Beginner Advice needed

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Hamdi
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

Beginner Advice needed

Post by Hamdi »

Hello guys,

Im a beginner vj willing to use resolume as the main software and i have some questions i would more thank thankful if u reply to it, thanks in advance

Whats is better Mac or pc laptops (Asus Rog or Macbook pro) to be specific??
How can i get more than one ouput from the same laptop??
What is the best midi controller to use with resolume

Thanks in advance,
Cheers

Oaktown
Resolume honorary member

Re: Beginner Advice needed

Post by Oaktown »

If you get a Macbook Pro, you'll need one with a discrete GPU which in the US is $2,500 and if you upgrade the processor as you should, you're in for an extra $200 and to get a 1TB SSD that's an extra $500, so you're rapidly in for $3,200. At that price point, I would think an ASUS Rog would give you best bang for your buck especially if you can get one with an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M 4GB GDDR5 like the Rog G751JY especially since it has a Thunderbolt port.

Regarding your question about multiple displays, the Macbook Pro has on HDMI and two displayport outputs so you can 3 outputs right out of the box. The Rog will make use of their ASUS Trinity Display technology to give you 3 outputs as well but I believe the GTX 980X with 4GB on the Rog will perform better that the MD Radeon R9 M370X with 2GB.

4eyes
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time

Post by 4eyes »

My advice? Get a PC and never look back. :D I like Sager notebooks personally.

The newest ones with the 980m can do three outputs. I believe they have one hdmi and two displayport connections.