From scraps to professional. (SOS!)

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
wie_wie
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

From scraps to professional. (SOS!)

Post by wie_wie »

Hey guys and happy new year to everybody(kinda late but whatever).
I have couple of questions(might not be arena related). Right now i just got bumped up to head of Video/Led departemant, in one of big concert halls in our region. I'm specilized in IT, but they moved me here because of certain issues with video. We have Media server Coolux Pandoras box, some video processors RGB link VSP 628pro and NOVA sending cards.
I want to be ready for the gigs this summer. I have some prior experiences and have done some gigs(nothing complicated though, haven't done anything timecode related as well), but i feel like i'm missing out a lot of things and now i have opportunity to pay and learn everything that i need from scraps. because in a big GIG i'm sure if something goes wrong ... well you know). I had some problems with datapath x4 as well, but it's not the hardware config that was wrong, but my perception of video processing, refresh rate-resolution etc... So could you advice to me any courses held anywhere on the planet, huge thanks in advance

Arvol
Might as well join the team

Re: From scraps to professional. (SOS!)

Post by Arvol »

I came from a 12 year background in network administration with a side hobby of post production editing. Got thrown into live production (hippos, novastar, and datapath). The guy who was suppose to train me quit the day I started.

I'm a hands on learner so I just jumped into it and taught myself. There are a lot of good resources online. Personally, I always tell people "Never invest money in educational courses for live production". It's a rough industry and spits out about 70% of the people I've worked with over the years.