New DMX MAP

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4710
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: New DMX MAP

Post by Zoltán »

there is also a keystone effect you can drop on any clip so you could grab the corners of a clip or layer with the lighting console.

with the layer routers you don't lose the output change ability, the difference is they are all active at the same time you just don't send a picture to them. You need to create the stage slices for as many positions as you need - and with a bit thinking you'll notice that you can do a positioning in an active mapping with the clip controls and effects only without a separate slice-
route the slices from empty layers which are above your content, and in these layers you place the layer routers in the same columns you play the given content. then you only need to do column triggering. and you'll be able to fade between the "presets"by fading in the next positions layer router in a different layer.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

inabox
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 14:28

Re: New DMX MAP

Post by inabox »

thanks for all the tips, I guess that for my inicitial request I can give up from the slice mapping using the layer router method. But for the advanced output presets, I still don't see a solution to sync this with cue lightings unless I could map it.

May be if you have a kind of tool similar to advanced output transformation on the composition side like the layer router...

Warp effect...

kind regards

JP

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: New DMX MAP

Post by Joris »

inabox wrote:May be if you have a kind of tool similar to advanced output transformation on the composition side like the layer router...

Warp effect...
Hey, you got your head around our solution! The advanced output options won't be just on the comp level, but on the layer and the clip level as well. If you want each clip to have different warpings, you do it on the clip level. Then you can either skip the advanced output altogether, or use it to further edge blending or do projector corrections.

inabox
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 14:28

Re: New DMX MAP

Post by inabox »

Joris wrote:
Hey, you got your head around our solution! The advanced output options won't be just on the comp level, but on the layer and the clip level as well. If you want each clip to have different warpings, you do it on the clip level. Then you can either skip the advanced output altogether, or use it to further edge blending or do projector corrections.
You mean the warping effect will be available, warping bezier and warping linear, with subdivisions x,y that's it?

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: New DMX MAP

Post by Joris »

Yes. Our current line of thinking is to have all the advanced output functionality available on clip, layer and comp level, with the exception that it's all a single 'screen', with a single input. So you can have as many slices as you want, in the end it's a single input texture (the clip, layer or comp) being warped to a single output texture (the warped clip, layer or comp). Think of it like the Iterator effect combined with the Keystone effect, put on steroids.

Instead of giving you another layer of complexion by having a second shortcut system in the advanced output (with the inevitable additional requests for effects and blend modes there), we keep it simple and re-use the existing shortcut system, with the additional benefit of the existing blend and effect system.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: New DMX MAP

Post by Oaktown »

That sounds promising! Are you thinking that it will be available with the Layer Router as well?

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: New DMX MAP

Post by Joris »

Of course. A layer router is essentially a clip with a texture like any other. For the effects applied to a clip, it makes no difference if the pixels come from disk or from other layers in the comp.

This really shows how you can address a problem by taking a step back and solving multiple problems in one go, instead of bolting on new features willy nilly. It's also why we really like to hear *why* you want to do something in the first place, instead of what you think we should do to make it possible.

inabox
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 14:28

Re: New DMX MAP

Post by inabox »

Joris wrote:Yes. Our current line of thinking is to have all the advanced output functionality available on clip, layer and comp level, with the exception that it's all a single 'screen', with a single input. So you can have as many slices as you want, in the end it's a single input texture (the clip, layer or comp) being warped to a single output texture (the warped clip, layer or comp). Think of it like the Iterator effect combined with the Keystone effect, put on steroids.
Great news, I was thinking on how the advanced output preset works, in fact it's a combination of various slices transformed by editing points, could we arrange one tool to gather all the transformed slices, a kind of Output Router?
Could you imagine the input source being the slices, and routing the slices to this toll?

Never losing the chance to sync it with the Controller/Lighting Desk. :D

Kind regards

JP

Post Reply