Yet another one - multi-clip editor for Resolume avenue

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
User avatar
gpvillamil
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 550
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Yet another one - multi-clip editor for Resolume avenue

Post by gpvillamil »

I've heard a request to be able to change parameters for all clips on a layer at once, and here is a solution:

Image

Install is as before for all my other patches, just unzip the files into a folder. Once again, if you already have Max/MSP or runtime, and the OpenSoundControl external, you can just re-use those. Make sure to download the latest version - it has many, many more options.

Basically this patch lets you select a layer on the right, and then any of the parameters that you change will be applied to all the clips in that layer. Handy way of changing playmodes and stuff for multiple clips. Once you've made changes, you can save the composition and it will keep the settings.

You can either type numbers into the number box or drag the slider, they will stay in sync. The little button resets to default values. UN-checking the enable box will send all OSC commands to the Max console window for debugging. No need to touch this otherwise.

There are some hardwired assumptions built-in to the patch, I can change if wanted:

8 layers
12 clips per layer maximum
640 x 480 default composition size

I worked a lot on developing some custom UI elements for this, they will filter into other Resolume related projects in the near future...

[Edit] Updated v 0.95 now works correctly with Resolume 3.1.3
Attachments
multi-editor_V95.zip
Updated version for Resolume 3.1.3, all the various list-based OSC commands (beat snap, etc) now work again.
(45.37 KiB) Downloaded 915 times
multi-editor_V90.zip
Yet another version, this one adds BeatSnap, Clip Target, and TriggerStyle
(45.44 KiB) Downloaded 852 times
multi-editor_V80.zip
Updated version, adds pitch, speed, syncmode, beats and BPM
(44.91 KiB) Downloaded 801 times
multi-editor.zip
A multi-clip editor for Resolume Avenue.
(44.2 KiB) Downloaded 814 times
Last edited by gpvillamil on Sat Jan 02, 2010 06:49, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
ondrejsevcik
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 23:46
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

keying

Post by ondrejsevcik »

hello Pablo,
is there any chroma key in avenue?
or some plugin for that?
i have footage on bluescreen with some dark shades - lumakey does not
work well in such a case ...

thx a lot

ondra

PS:
apple prores works fine in avenue so far,quality of picture seems to be much better than dxv codec...

User avatar
gradek
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 20:14

Re: Yet another one - multi-clip editor for Resolume avenue

Post by gradek »

gpvillamil dude you rock! Going to test this today!
Want to map LED rings with Resolume? Then look no further: https://goo.gl/f2dPGu

GeeEs
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 13:26
Location: Netherlands

Re: Yet another one - multi-clip editor for Resolume avenue

Post by GeeEs »

Gpvillamil... are you sure you are not building another software package? ;)
You really are a MAX freak aren't you? :D

Another great application I see! Nice work, gonna try it this weekend!
desktop: Windows 7 home premium 64 bit, MSI 870A-G54, AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition, 4Gb RAM (GVP34GB1600C9DC), NVidia GTX 560
laptop: Windows 7 home premium 32 bit, Core2duo 2Ghz, 4Gb Ram, NVidia 9600m GT

User avatar
gradek
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 20:14

Re: Yet another one - multi-clip editor for Resolume avenue

Post by gradek »

I have a little request: Would it be possible to change beat snap for multiple clips with this patch in the future?
Want to map LED rings with Resolume? Then look no further: https://goo.gl/f2dPGu

User avatar
gpvillamil
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 550
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: Yet another one - multi-clip editor for Resolume avenue

Post by gpvillamil »

gradek wrote:I have a little request: Would it be possible to change beat snap for multiple clips with this patch in the future?
Should be do-able. Bart, Edwin what's the info on:

/layer2/clip4/audio/tempo/syncmode 3.
/layer2/clip4/audio/tempo/beats 0.0001 0.0004 1.0001

I figure the syncmode is easy enough to work out, but the beats scale must be 0 to 10,000 right?

User avatar
gpvillamil
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 550
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: Yet another one - multi-clip editor for Resolume avenue

Post by gpvillamil »

I've posted an updated version of the multi-editor, now it has pitch (for audio clips) and speed (for video clips) controls, it can change the syncmode for audio clips (auto, BPM, beats) and define the settings for those (BPM and beats).

Image

However, the beatsnap command is in a menu, so I can't figure out how to map it in OSC. Any recommendations from Bart or Edwin? In fact, it looks like a lot of stuff in the menu would be useful, such as clip target. Being able to set them all to global, none or a specific value would be nice.

User avatar
gradek
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 20:14

Re: Yet another one - multi-clip editor for Resolume avenue

Post by gradek »

sweet! Thanks man.
Want to map LED rings with Resolume? Then look no further: https://goo.gl/f2dPGu

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: Yet another one - multi-clip editor for Resolume avenue

Post by edwin »

Gian,
Hers is a list of some feautures tucked away in the menu's.
Let me know if you miss some.


///OSC

Beat snap can be set on clip level and on composition level.
Beatsnap is internally called quantization

To change the clip quantization
/clip/quantization (known as beatsnap)
QUANTIZATION_NONE 1
QUANTIZATION_GLOBAL 2
QUANTIZATION_8_BARS 3
QUANTIZATION_4_BARS 4
QUANTIZATION_2_BARS 5
QUANTIZATION_1_BAR 6
QUANTIZATION_HALF_BAR 7
QUANTIZATION_QUARTER_BAR 8
QUANTIZATION_EIGHT_BAR 9
QUANTIZATION_SIXTEENTH_BAR 10

Composition quantization is defined in the playbackcontroller
/playbackController/quantization
QUANTIZATION_NONE 1
QUANTIZATION_GLOBAL 2 (global is not relevant here)
QUANTIZATION_8_BARS 3
QUANTIZATION_4_BARS 4
QUANTIZATION_2_BARS 5
QUANTIZATION_1_BAR 6
QUANTIZATION_HALF_BAR 7
QUANTIZATION_QUARTER_BAR 8
QUANTIZATION_EIGHT_BAR 9
QUANTIZATION_SIXTEENTH_BAR 10


/clip/target
CLIP_TARGET_GLOBAL 1
CLIP_TARGET_SAME_LAYER 2
CLIP_TARGET_ACTIVE_LAYER 3
CLIP_TARGET_FIRST_FREE_LAYER 4


/composition/target
CLIP_TARGET_GLOBAL 1 (global is not relevant here)
CLIP_TARGET_SAME_LAYER 2
CLIP_TARGET_ACTIVE_LAYER 3
CLIP_TARGET_FIRST_FREE_LAYER 4

/clip/triggerstyle/
CLIP_TRIGGERSTYLE_GLOBAL 1
CLIP_TRIGGERSTYLE_NORMAL 2
CLIP_TRIGGERSTYLE_PIANO 3

/composition/triggerStle (made a typo here, triggerStle instead of triggerStyle, but this will be fixed in 3.0.2)
CLIP_TRIGGERSTYLE_GLOBAL 1 (global is not relevant here)
CLIP_TRIGGERSTYLE_NORMAL 2
CLIP_TRIGGERSTYLE_PIANO 3

User avatar
gpvillamil
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 550
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: Yet another one - multi-clip editor for Resolume avenue

Post by gpvillamil »

Sweet!

I take it the addressing is the same, so for example to set Layer 1, Clip 1 Beatsnap to 1 bar would be:

layer1/clip1/quantization 6

Post Reply