Resolume Arena 5.1 & Avenue 4.6 Level Boss

This news is also displayed on the homepage and you can post replies to news items here.
Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 4337
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Resolume Arena 5.1 & Avenue 4.6 Level Boss

Postby Joris » Tue Sep 20, 2016 08:08

phpBB [video]


You know how it goes.

You think you know how this game works, and that you've got the level boss' attack pattern all figured out. You know his weak points, and all you need to do is wait for him to step left so you can shoot at that gap in his armor. Then, just as he reaches half health, he mutates and is back to full health. And he's full of new tricks.

The Arena 5.1 / Avenue 4.6 release is Resolume's Boss Fight. New features, new tricks, new workflows. You know, to keep you on your toes.

Hit that download!


New:
- ArtPoll and Art-Net Unicast
- Much lower memory usage when using still images and non-DXV movies
- Load images as guides for in Input and Output mapping
- Export slices to .svg
Paths.png

- Clip Menu Item: Strip Audio
- Type 4 space separated numerical values to enter a slice top, left, width and height coordinates
- RGBA fixture colorspace
- Maintain fixture scale and proportion when switching fixtures
- Duplicate lumiverse
- Button to toggle snapping
- Multiselect and drag slices between and within screens
- Roll over rotation range for slices
- Mouse hover popup in DMX Output window that shows the channel value as a number
- When deleting a column with an active clip, make the first clip in the column before it the active one
- When moving a Slice mask completely outside of a slice, paint the slice outline red
- When creating new fixture automatically start giving it a name

Unicast.png

Fixed:
- Blackmagic output broken in 504
- Soft edge params are universal
- Resolume does not accept Art-Net messages coming from the same computer
- Twitch crashes on OSX when moving it from clip to layer or comp
- Dragging a slice to a differently sized screen adjusts the slice's output width & height
- RGBW(A) fixtures don't output the correct values.
- Apparently there is now also a RevB for the Enttec Mk2
- Unneccesary Undomanager memory increase
- Alpha dropdown does not show on DXV content with alpha when Quicktime is not installed
- Params missing from Slice multiselect
- Slices are snapped without moving the mouse
- Art-Net output already in use by different entry doesn't update its error message when the output is freed
- Preview flickers on active clip with alpha
- Massive FPS drop after loading a different preset or after undo
- 360 softedging places the blend in the entire area outside the comp
- Advanced output window covers all other system menus
- Snapping works for only for slices on the selected screen
- Enabling autopilot after clip has looped makes it jump to the target clip immediately
Guides.png

- Softedge is applied on disabled slices
- SoftEdge textures dont get updated when slice is moved through params.
- DMX automap default value for Master Speed is off by 1
- Soft edge has a black line.
- Fixture is missing right click options
- Use computer name as default node name instead of "Resolume"
- Y Mirror Broken in Output
- No right click context menu for masks?
- CMD/CTRL-A in the Advanced Output gets passed to deck
- Ghost rendering when resizing slice using transformer draggers
- advanced.xml can cause Arena to crash on startup
- Duplicate plugin folders are scanned twice
- Reconnecting a clip with different length results in wrong playback speed
- X,Y controls missing when editing the points of an input mask
- Performance drops with a *lot* of slices
- Windows version loads hidden osx files as blank clips
- Clip preview is straight alpha, clip-in-layer preview is premult
- Composition bypass doesn't bypass layer routed slice
- No right click context menu for masks?
- Lumiverse output appears empty
- Fixture is missing right click options
- BPM stops when resync gets triggerd by dmx
- Can not move perspective point on output slice with keyboard arrow keys
- Stingy Sphere on a layer gets the wrong viewport values
- Time Remaining shows time till clip end, not till clip outpoint

Arena 5.1.1 & Avenue 4.6.1 Update:
- [FIXED] Master Fader & Composition Fade Out broken when using the output menu
- [FIXED] Solid Color Effect Show Image parameter not working
- [FIXED] Spout via Advanced output not working

Arena 5.1.2 & Avenue 4.6.2 Update:
- [FIXED] Crash during startup
- [FIXED] Advanced screen setup and outputs not working in OSX 10.8 and lower
- [FIXED] Bezier outlines rendering is broken
- [FIXED] Certain blend modes still show white
- [FIXED] SVG output does not take into account perspective warping
- [FIXED] Crash when creating and deleting a fixture on Windows

We now offer installers that do not include example footage so your download is much smaller & quicker. You'll find this link in the Other Version dropdown on the download page.

Babcom
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 08:30

Re: Resolume Arena 5.1 & Avenue 4.6 Level Boss

Postby Babcom » Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:16

Great! Looking forward to some pixel tape madness on 5.1 : )

I would love to se a 4.6 update on Arena also... Will that happen to?

User avatar
cosmowe
Senior Member
Posts: 1092
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Resolume Arena 5.1 & Avenue 4.6 Level Boss

Postby cosmowe » Tue Sep 20, 2016 11:04

5.1 comes just in time for the weekend job. Amazing new features!
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || spark d'fuser || magewell capture dongle

Sadler
Senior Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 23:55

Re: Resolume Arena 5.1 & Avenue 4.6 Level Boss

Postby Sadler » Tue Sep 20, 2016 21:06

I had Twitch crashing on Windows (in another host) but now it's not. Yay!

User avatar
francoe
Senior Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: Resolume Arena 5.1 & Avenue 4.6 Level Boss

Postby francoe » Thu Sep 29, 2016 23:44

Installers without footage, :o oh guys, I love you.
Changelog looks awesome, wanna try it right now.

daxx
Senior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 15:44

Re: Resolume Arena 5.1 & Avenue 4.6 Level Boss

Postby daxx » Thu Oct 06, 2016 20:05

Working on mac OSX el Captain and having issues installing.
The 'verifying "resolume arena 5.1.0 installer.pkg" ' takes ages (hours) and installation itself will not start.

Tried dl'ing it again but no change.
Any ideas on this?

Dax

User avatar
ravensc
Senior Member
Posts: 1394
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Resolume Arena 5.1 & Avenue 4.6 Level Boss

Postby ravensc » Thu Oct 06, 2016 20:15

daxx wrote:Working on mac OSX el Captain and having issues installing.
The 'verifying "resolume arena 5.1.0 installer.pkg" ' takes ages (hours) and installation itself will not start.
Tried dl'ing it again but no change.
Any ideas on this?
Dax

I was just about to write about the same issue, restarted a few times to try again, but then I left the installer for a while and then the installer dialog showed up.
now everything is back to normal.. strange...
Maybe an osx background update?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

daxx
Senior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 15:44

Re: Resolume Arena 5.1 & Avenue 4.6 Level Boss

Postby daxx » Fri Oct 07, 2016 06:24

Nope, waited for nearly 10 hours, install didn't start ...
any other ideas?

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 4337
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Resolume Arena 5.1 & Avenue 4.6 Level Boss

Postby Joris » Fri Oct 07, 2016 09:10

This is an Apple bug, something to do with Spotlight and Gatekeeper. It affects all installers that use the .pkg method, even Apple's own installers :lol: Strangely enough, it doesn't affect everyone and then not even all the time.

http://osxdaily.com/2016/07/26/fix-stuc ... -mac-os-x/

The easiest fix is to right-click the .pkg file and choose Open from the context menu. If that doesn't work for you, you can follow the steps in the link above to use an app called Installer to force the package to open.

So far, I haven't had the problem on Sierra, btw.

daxx
Senior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 15:44

Re: Resolume Arena 5.1 & Avenue 4.6 Level Boss

Postby daxx » Fri Oct 07, 2016 17:48

Installer app did the trick!
tnx Joris!


Return to “News! Extra! Extra! Read all about it!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests