Resolume 4.1.9 Update: Sweating the Small Things

Stay up to date with important updates, artist showcases and more
Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Resolume 4.1.9 Update: Sweating the Small Things

Post by Joris » Tue May 20, 2014 08:27

//Edited 27/5 with 4.1.10 update info //

Resolume 4.1.9 is a happier and smarter Resolume. 4.1.10 is even happier.

Thanks to your quick and awesome user feedback, we were able to squash a few important bugs that had snuck their way in to the 4.1.9 release. So here's the 4.1.10 update which fixes the following bugs:

[FIXED] Glitches and crashes with some clean aperture clips
[FIXED] Twitch does not load correctly on PC and OSX 10.6.8
[FIXED] Slice stacking order is reversed
[FIXED] Alpha layer blend mode and Alpha clip transition do not work well together
[FIXED] Flash crash on Mac when removing with X button on the clip panel

Stay calm and download 4.1.10.

-------------------------------------
For this update we focused on workflow improvements. Check out the video for a quick overview of the eye catchers.



We tweaked lots of little things in lots of little places. The devil is in the details, so while you’re downloading, check out the full release notes below.

A special note to people on OSX Mavericks: in some cases, Resolume’s performance would drop when the menu bar on the second screen was disabled via ‘Displays have separate Spaces’ in the Mission Control system settings.

In 4.1.9, we are removing the menu bar automatically. So we recommend enabling ‘Displays have separate Spaces’ again in the preferences of your Mac.
Triangulate.png
NEW: Scroll to layer and clip when made active with shortcut
NEW: Disable scroll to layer and clip via Preferences
NEW: The playhead and In and Out points show their values in MM:SS:FF
NEW: When position x/y is animated, set default in and out points to comp size
NEW: When a monitor is lost, it is disabled instead of moved to the remaining monitor
NEW: Remember deck scroll position per deck
NEW: Show audio codec
NEW: Audio FFT Gain knob is midi mappable
NEW: Polish translation ( thanks to Marek Olczak! )
NEW: PolkaDot, Triangulate and Twitch effects
Polish.png
FIXED: Output doesn’t cover Menu Bar on second screen on Mavericks
FIXED: Alpha Transition crossfade
FIXED: [CRASH] Selecting a buffer size of 64 or lower gives spinning wheel of death on Mavericks
FIXED: Black level compensation no worky
FIXED: Saturation filter doesn't actually saturate
FIXED: RGB Delay does not initialise the viewport correctly
FIXED: When show display and slice info is turned on, syphon displays show "no device"
FIXED: Screen (both interface and output) flash black when dragging a clip from the browser
FIXED: Syphon source does not have a duration
FIXED: No worky for different user on OSX
FIXED: On windows startup, the last layer is selected
FIXED: Position X/Y does not have a midi range for spinner
FIXED: Transitions are wonky when incoming clip is Syphon source
FIXED: Opening a VST ui for the second time gives a blank white window
FIXED: Composition Midi Map shortcuts for BPM Tap/Pauese/Resync/-+ are not saved
FIXED: SMPTE stutters after ~30 minutes
FIXED: Recording a file with special accents in the name did not save and load correctly
FIXED: Composition master opacity is multiplied with slice alpha
FIXED: Autopilot does not kick in at the right moment after scrubbing the playhead
FIXED: Bright line on edge blend
FIXED: Disable Quit Confirmation doesn't work on Windoze
FIXED: Menubar pops up when using a parameter from property panel in windows
FIXED: [CRASH] when creating a new comp when the advanced output is open
FIXED: Cursor no snappy on folded effects
FIXED: If Show in Finder/ Explorer is chosen, would be nice if the file is also actually selected
FIXED: Waveform zoom does not go away when switching to empty clip
MMSSFF.png

Alvis_Cortex
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 15:42

Re: Resolume 4.1.9 Update: Sweating the Small Things

Post by Alvis_Cortex » Tue May 20, 2014 08:52

Seriously,. this update is f*** amazing.
Improving the workflow sometimes is way better (and more necessary) than new features.

I have been waiting (and made a request here on the forum) for the automatic 'scroll to layer & clip" feature.
This is one of the biggest improvement you guys could have ever given to us, it will make the workflow way better and more intuitive, and consequently more creative.

and the other improvements are also great, the X/Y in/out animated parameters to comp size is crucial.

Thanks guys.

As always you rock.

basvcds
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 16:00

Re: Resolume 4.1.9 Update: Sweating the Small Things

Post by basvcds » Tue May 20, 2014 08:58

Scrolling clips AND Twitch effect; you guys have just made my life a whole lot easier. Many thanks!

Babcom
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 08:30

Re: Resolume 4.1.9 Update: Sweating the Small Things

Post by Babcom » Tue May 20, 2014 10:36

Thanks! Great news... Looking forward to upgrade to Mavericks : )

craftycurate
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 20:26

Re: Resolume 4.1.9 Update: Sweating the Small Things

Post by craftycurate » Tue May 20, 2014 12:55

Awesome - downloading now. Especially excited about the Alpha transition improvements as I use a lot of Flash overlays. And the clip scrolling. And the new effects. And the other stuff. All of it really :mrgreen:
Win7 x64 Pro | 8GB | Nvidia Go 650M/2GB

craftycurate
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 20:26

Re: Resolume 4.1.9 Update: Sweating the Small Things

Post by craftycurate » Tue May 20, 2014 13:25

UPDATE:

1) New effects awesome! I love the Twitch effect from AE and it's a very welcome addition here, and the Polka dot effect gives a lovely halftone effect which I had been recreating using Dot Grid and Pixels in Space. Nice one :)

2) The Alpha Crossfade doesn't seem to work when the layer blend mode is set to Alpha, though it works fine when using Add50 or Add (but I can't remember if it worked like this in 4.1.8 will need to check). Conditions are:

1. Set layer blend mode to Alpha
2. Make sure both clips have RGBA channels active
3. Transition between two clips with alpha channel

The alpha parts of the clip go black during the transition and disappear once the transition is completed.

This happens both when using PNGs with alpha channel and also Flash anims with Alpha.

http://youtu.be/qjfSV8uE_K8

Cheers
Richard
Win7 x64 Pro | 8GB | Nvidia Go 650M/2GB

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Resolume 4.1.9 Update: Sweating the Small Things

Post by Joris » Tue May 20, 2014 14:20

Sorry to disappoint you Craftycurate, but the prize for first bug report goes to Ravensc: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=11135

craftycurate
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 20:26

Re: Resolume 4.1.9 Update: Sweating the Small Things

Post by craftycurate » Tue May 20, 2014 14:39

Aww shoot :)
Win7 x64 Pro | 8GB | Nvidia Go 650M/2GB

ReggieUnderground
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 08:15

Re: Resolume 4.1.9 Update: Sweating the Small Things

Post by ReggieUnderground » Tue May 20, 2014 20:01

Beyond the Mavericks stuff, my favorite changes:

NEW: The playhead and In and Out points show their values in MM:SS:FF
NEW: Remember deck scroll position per deck
FIXED: Composition master opacity is multiplied with slice alpha

Thanks for your work.

User avatar
lotech
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 21:45
Location: AKL, New Zealand

Re: Resolume 4.1.9 Update: Sweating the Small Things

Post by lotech » Wed May 21, 2014 00:36

Not a bug report but still a request to see in the next version -
NEW: Installer now offers to copy fx and presets from previous installed version.

Post Reply