Mac output or projector input issue? SOLVED

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
faderc
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 03:37
Location: palmerston north, new zealands belly button

Mac output or projector input issue? SOLVED

Post by faderc »

Hi folks, this is not a Resolume specific issue, but it does occur also when running Resolume and we have our first international show next week so if anyone has some insight id appreciate it.

Macbook Pro 2.6ghz i7. 16g ram. Intel HD4000 / NIVIDA Geforce GT 650m graphics. OWC SSD hard drive
Outputs via Thunderbolt to DVI adapter, then DVI to HDMI cable into Acer P1166P Projector.

Soooo, Plug everything in, projector automaticaly sees the HDMI input, I get picture up on screen (mostly resolume but last night the Sound City doco, via itunes) and after a few minutes of running perfectly, the output picture drops to the projectors default screen, then there is a message about the input being HDMI and the picture comes back up, last night only did that once near begining of movie. Did exact same thing with Resolume last week at band practice. Drops out once, then plays fine.

Soooo, mac output issue or projector input issue or are my pants just not hipster enough?

Cheers
Craig
Last edited by faderc on Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:16, edited 1 time in total.
researchintospeed. arena 5.1.1, macbook pro.

User avatar
Stickygreen
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 21:33
Location: vancouver

Re: Mac output or projector input issue?

Post by Stickygreen »

sounds like you could have a faulty connection.

How long is the HDMI cable you are using?

Can you use a different connection like VGA and get the same issue, if so, more than likely your projector is faulty. But I would test it with a different display device before making that call, like a TV to be sure, cause it could be a bad signal coming from your Vid card in your computer to.

more than likely it's an HDMI issue, probably due to a long cable... But if it's a short cable, then maybe try swapping out cables..
(this is why I never use HDMI, it's junk, especially HDCP! it deserves no place in professional video environments.)

faderc
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 03:37
Location: palmerston north, new zealands belly button

Re: Mac output or projector input issue?

Post by faderc »

Howdy, cheers for the input, I knew i should have tried the VGA as well, ill do that today at rehearsal and see if i get the same fault.

In this case its a short DVI to HDMI cable, probably 2 meters. Im totally a noob when it comes to the video side of things, just enough to be dangerous!

Cheers

Craig
researchintospeed. arena 5.1.1, macbook pro.

faderc
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 03:37
Location: palmerston north, new zealands belly button

Re: Mac output or projector input issue? Same with VGA...

Post by faderc »

Ok, so at todays rehearsal used Thunderbolt to VGA adapter > VGA cable to Projector.

Same issue. After a short amount of time the picture drops out to the projectors blue screen, then comes back up and displays properly, and keeps rockn solid for the next hour or so.

It always seems the same amount of short time for the temporary drop out, is this maybe an issue with the graphics cards in the mac pro switching?

Hmm, to the googles, lets go!

Cheers
Cx
researchintospeed. arena 5.1.1, macbook pro.

Stafis
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:58

Re: Mac output or projector input issue?

Post by Stafis »

You have 4 parts in this problem:
* The computer
* The adapter
* The cable
* The projector

As i understand it you have eliminated the adapter and the cable - so you are halfway :)

Try hooking it up to TV/Monitor instead of the projector?

/Stafis

HerrNieDa
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 09:30

Re: Mac output or projector input issue?

Post by HerrNieDa »

maybe check the Settings of the Power Safe Mode on your Mac.
The Screen-Resolutuion also shouldn't be the problem, but maybe test other ones!
seems that it's not the projector cause i don't think that both inputs got such a problem.
MainSys: Z77 UP5,3570K,32GB Ram,GTX 285, M3 128GB,4x3TB R5@LSI9750
VJSys 1: 990FX UD5,X6 1045T,16GB Ram,GTX970+610+610,M3 128GB,3x1TB R0
MBP 3.1; Schenker A102 (650m) & P702 (675m)

faderc
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 03:37
Location: palmerston north, new zealands belly button

Re: Mac output or projector input issue?

Post by faderc »

Hoping to try with another projector today, or maybe a TV.

Also came across something about resetting SMC and PRAM if its the mac side...

More news as it comes to hand.

Thanks
Craig
researchintospeed. arena 5.1.1, macbook pro.

faderc
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 03:37
Location: palmerston north, new zealands belly button

Re: Mac output or projector input issue? SOLVED

Post by faderc »

Finally had a chance to plug into another projector today, no drop out, all good. So it seems my little domestic acer gets a bit uppity for some reason and drops the picture briefly soon after it starts receiving something. No biggy really, its used at home or at small shows where we are lucky to have enough amps in the power supply to run anything, let alone a PA :) Always plug into the electric range I say.

Thanks y'all.

Craig
researchintospeed. arena 5.1.1, macbook pro.

Post Reply