Can someone identify this problem?

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
NLS6XX
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 18:35
Location: Ghent - Belgium

Can someone identify this problem?

Post by NLS6XX »

Hi I'm pretty sure this isn't a Resolume problem but it sure is a video problem...

I got a problem last friday with the projection. During sound/light/video check in the afternoon everything was fine until in the first part of the show the projection on the screen got weird. Kinda like "interlacing on crack or acid" weird. I've put a picture in attachment for you guys to see it clearly (allthough I think my formulation is quite accurate ;) ).
Schermafbeelding 2013-02-11 om 02.19.02.png
This problem continued for a while but then went away again. In the pause I rebooted/disconnected/reconnected my system, but it got back. Then went away again only to come back once in a while for a couple of minutes.

Please understand that I come from an audio background so maybe this is a no brainer for you video hardheads. I'm just hoping to learn some more so it doesn't happen again.

The complete setup was as follows:
Old MBP via S-Video into Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt to new MBP with Resolume to mini displayport/VGA adapter via 20meters VGA cable to beamer.
The new MBP was also connected for audio through a Apogee Duet2 into the F.O.H. mixer.
Project resolution was 1920x1080.
Output to beamer & beamer resolution was 1920x1080.

On saturday I had another show with basically the same setup but with a 1024x768 project, over vga/utp/vga cable and I had not a single problem.

So does anyone knows what the problem was?

Is it looking for trouble to send full hd over 20 meters of VGA cable?
Was it a cable problem?
One collegue thought it was a sync problem.
Another collegue thought it was a ground loop building up.
Nobody really knew what was happening...

Hope someone can identify...

Greetz,
Nils

NLS6XX
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 18:35
Location: Ghent - Belgium

Re: Can someone identify this problem?

Post by NLS6XX »

I've put a small video in my dropbox as well:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/6243959/MVI_9974b.mov

Basic
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 09:39
Location: UK

Re: Can someone identify this problem?

Post by Basic »

does it just need de-interlacing? What did you render the footage from?
Resolume Avenue 3.3.3 - MBP i7, 8gb RAM - Snow Leopard (2010). Akai APC20

User avatar
vj granda
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:34
Location: Andorra

Re: Can someone identify this problem?

Post by vj granda »

Yes, It seems a clear symptom of interlacing...

NLS6XX
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 18:35
Location: Ghent - Belgium

Re: Can someone identify this problem?

Post by NLS6XX »

I had it no matter what clip I played.
What you see in the picture was the stream coming from my old MBP through the Intensity Shuttle. Activating the "de-interlace" button in Resolume made no difference.
But I had the same thing going with clips that came directly from my harddrive and consisted of nothing else than "text" videos I made in FCP.

Also when I played the same clips (like the one you see in the picture) later in the show I didn't had the problem.

And all files are encoded with the DXV codec.

Post Reply