Page 1 of 1

Output monitor ''Refresh'' Problem - stutters

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 21:53
by kratata
I have a 640x480 composition, with mostly DXV video's ( or photojpeg ).

When i play a video, it 's not running smoothly, it stops for a moment and than goes on. Sometimes you also see a block of a previous frame so the image is distorted.
The Playhead of the video goes on, so that doesn't stop.

But, i have a gig tomorrow and im sort of stressing out here,
so hope someone recognises it and can tell me what it could be.

Im using arena 4.1.4 ( the update didnt do the trick.. )
Windows 7 - 64 bit.

Thanks.
Krista

Re: Output monitor ''Refresh'' Problem - stutters

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 22:05
by kratata
and when i try to make a screenshot it imediately goes to a 'good' frame. So i made a picture of it.
The lines should go on, but there is a weird block in it. And for the rest it doesnt play smoothly.

Plus on a secondscreen it appears ok... but on the output monitor it keeps on doing it.

Re: Output monitor ''Refresh'' Problem - stutters

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 01:37
by kmifflin
What is your hardware. Which Graphics Card

Re: Output monitor ''Refresh'' Problem - stutters

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 09:04
by kratata
Intel HD graphics card & amd radeon 6900m
i7-2820DM - 2.30 GHz
16 gb RAM

Re: Output monitor ''Refresh'' Problem - stutters

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:05
by Virus

Re: Output monitor ''Refresh'' Problem - stutters

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:53
by Joris
Becasue the output monitor is pretty much for your eyes only and you probably want it updated as fast as possible, we're not waiting for screen refreshes. So there is a possibility for tearing.

As long as it's good on the secondary output, I wouldn't stress out too much about it.

You could give a quick check in the log to see if Resolume is actually running with the proper GPU though.

Intel GPU ( Bad ):
Log_Bad.png
Log_Bad.png (10.02 KiB) Viewed 4272 times
Discrete GPU ( Good ):
Log_Good.png
Log_Good.png (10.2 KiB) Viewed 4272 times

Re: Output monitor ''Refresh'' Problem - stutters

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 13:02
by kratata
Thanks.
arena runs on the Amd - so thats nice to know.

The only thing changed from my last gig till now is my antivirus software, so i got rid of that and it seems less disturbed. But still.
When i connect a beamer the problem seems gone... and after all, thats what we want!!!
after tonight i will figure out who the exact distuber is & i will post it for maybe other people with the same problemo.

thanks for the tips!!

Re: Output monitor ''Refresh'' Problem - stutters

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 16:31
by mfo
i'm on windows7 64bit as well and had similar probs. it has nothing to do with resolume at all, it is rather the way how graphics output is handled: line by line, or frame by frame.
the solution (for me) was fairly simple: when you pick your windows theme, use an Aero design instead of a basic design!

Re: Output monitor ''Refresh'' Problem - stutters

Posted: Tue May 14, 2013 12:17
by kratata
thanks for this tip mfo ! will try it out next time !
so we learn everyday :)