triangular slice

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
Frischvergiftung
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 23:13

triangular slice

Post by Frischvergiftung »

hello!

we are thinking about buying resolume arena for a mapping job we have using 4 projectors.

we have previously done mappings with mac/madmapper, but this time the resolutions are too high and we need real and affordable computing power from a Windows PC with a powerful graphics card. so arena will probably be our software. we tested the beta and its working just fine.

only thing we are missing is a way to slice our output into triangles and map these. madmapper has a triangular slice layer option for that. we are currently planning to slice our footage into trinagles with after effects then mapping qudrangles in arena over them. but the fitting of these onto the real world object is really tricky and never works out 100%.

how would you go about that?

cheers

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: triangular slice

Post by drazkers »

Make all your content triangles with alpha. Then Its easy to just use the grid warper or for bigger triangles just the square tool, since your content is already a triangle with alpha it doesn't matter. Layer content if there is an overlap. At worst, a mask will also help keep the triangles the corect size.

I wouldn't test with a beta, i'd use the demo since thats actually up to date.

Frischvergiftung
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 23:13

Re: triangular slice

Post by Frischvergiftung »

yeah thats how we planned to do it. although that'll bring our content up to roughly 4000 x 4000px. with dxv codec it should still play smoothly. we will report how it worked out with this solution!

Frischvergiftung
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 23:13

Re: triangular slice

Post by Frischvergiftung »

okay this works. it is important to always drag two neighboring corners of the slice at the same time so the whole slice stays a paralellogram. otherwise the content becomes distorted and wont match up with other slices.

najrock
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 17:53

Re: triangular slice

Post by najrock »

if you are pushing pixels that large you should probably be considering a more robust out of the box media server solution like D3, AI or pandora...

mapping triangles is not fun in arena...

Frischvergiftung
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 23:13

Re: triangular slice

Post by Frischvergiftung »

Well yeah, but we're on a tight budget here. So far it is working good. We had to play the file from an internal SSD with premultiplied alpha, instead of straight alpha, and now it runs perfectly Smooth. The Mapping Went okay, although we had to back away from our Parallelogramm Theorie ventilated earlier.

Post Reply