Mapping changes drastically if video cable unplugged

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Mapping changes drastically if video cable unplugged

Post by Joris » Tue Feb 11, 2014 00:04

If Arena is outputting something different when outputs are disconnected and reconnected, that's a serious issue, and we'll do everything we can to get a fix out as soon as possible.

To avoid getting in too much speculation though, EDID is a protocol used by monitors to announce information about themselves to the graphic card they are connected to. This information includes resolutions and refresh rates it supports, as well as manufacturing info. This is what defines the options that are available for different resolutions in the screen setup of your operating system.

We do not send out EDID information, nor do we request this directly from the display. We simply ask the system for the resolution of the connected displays, which is what you yourself have chosen in the system setup. Then we send out an image at that resolution to the monitor. This image consists of the composited layers and advanced output transformations you have applied. EDIDs do not enter in Resolume at all.

If the resolution received from the system has changed, Resolume tries to maintain the mapping as best as possible. We try to scale the mapping to the new resolution, so if your output transformations were made at 1920x1080, they should still align when you set the new resolution to 1280x720. Any changes here *will* be reflected in the numbers shown in the Advanced Output.

If the output resolution has not changed, and the slices still show their previous values and transformations in the Advanced Output preview, but the projector is showing something different than before, the problem could be in two places.

One is that the projector could be doing some auto-alignment function which is wreaking havoc with your mapping. This is easily checked by sending a test card image through a new, non-transformed slice. If parts of the test card are not showing up, your projector is biting you in the ass.

The other is that Resolume is doing some unexplained things *after* the modifications you have told it to make in the Advanced Output. The only way to properly check this is to have some sort of preview monitor connected, which has a duplicate of the signal sent to the projector.

Because a preview monitor is not always on hand, we hope that you can take some time to document this behaviour with screenshots of the advanced output before and after, and the mapping before and after. Hopefully we can get an indication of the problem that way. Needless to say, we have never come across this situation, nor have we heard of anyone experiencing this before this post. So we're dependent on your info to help us track down any possible issues.

We always recommend to first do a Save As... via the preset drop down before shutting down and disconnecting, so you can always recall the preset at any time. Pressing Save&Close can cause a loss of data when the config.xml file is corrupted or deleted.

zebbler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 23:40

Re: Mapping changes drastically if video cable unplugged

Post by zebbler » Tue Feb 11, 2014 04:38

Thank you very much for your reply. If this happens again, I will try to document all aspects of this, time permitting.

dun_panic
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 22:46

Re: Mapping changes drastically if video cable unplugged

Post by dun_panic » Sun Feb 16, 2014 05:09

Happen to me last month, my server output resolutions changed everytime i restart it probably due to the led video processor edid and it change resolume advanced output too! Why cant we save the advanced output setting such as slice, mask etc to export it into another backup server?

gabonacorp
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 15:02

Re: Mapping changes drastically if video cable unplugged

Post by gabonacorp » Sun Feb 16, 2014 09:19

You can. If you save the advanced output preset than you will find it in the Arena folder in documents and settings. If you don't find it than give the preset some crazy name and search it in your computer.

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Mapping changes drastically if video cable unplugged

Post by Joris » Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:11

This chapter of the manual describes in detail how to save and copy Advanced Output setups to a different computer: https://resolume.com/manual/en/r4/outpu ... ut_presets

zebbler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 23:40

Re: Mapping changes drastically if video cable unplugged

Post by zebbler » Sun Mar 02, 2014 00:56

So this issue didn't (so far) present itself on our current tour.
I am using a consistent projector, so the EDID communication is probably not getting confused.

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: Mapping changes drastically if video cable unplugged

Post by francoe » Mon Mar 10, 2014 16:17

I faced that issue several times. Isn't in the Arena side.
On cheap or home projectors, even when auto-align is off, you will find your image randomly displaced a few pixels. More if you are over vga.

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: Mapping changes drastically if video cable unplugged

Post by drazkers » Tue Mar 11, 2014 07:35

Can confirmed that on cheaper units you sometimes run into something called tracking or auto configure.

Did a corporate with a couple 4k short throws added on last minute for branding. One cable, monitor out of one projector to the other. Totally different projected image. Unplug, plug back in, now both projectors send something different.

Leon
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 20:00

Re: Mapping changes drastically if video cable unplugged

Post by Leon » Sun Aug 31, 2014 02:44

Besides the system crashing on me ,here is another issue that is happening to me on a daily basis. Our six projectors are installed at a fixed location and they are pixel mapped to the walls of the restaurant. When we shut down for the night and power the projectors off all of our mapping get messed up the next day when we open up for business we have to remap the room as well as fix colors. This is requiring a trained person to always be on site to power up our system. How do we fix this. We run the system Thursday - Saturday from 3pm - 2am year round. Go to my client website to view photos of the space.

http://www.thedorestaurant.com/#!videos/c1yd5

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4211
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Mapping changes drastically if video cable unplugged

Post by Zoltán » Sun Aug 31, 2014 07:13

Leon wrote: Our six projectors are installed at a fixed location and they are pixel mapped to the walls of the restaurant. When we shut down for the night and power the projectors off all of our mapping get messed up the next day when we open up for business we have to remap ...
try to use digital signal on long cables,
or smaller analog resolution,
or switch off any automatic signal recognition functions on the projectors
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply