OSC Mapping A/B

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
mikedif
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 00:35

OSC Mapping A/B

Post by mikedif »

So I am setting up my touchOSC and so far only am having one difficulty. I am trying to setup a A/B buttons for my 3 layers but cannot for the life of me get it to work. I can get the A button to work and if both A and B buttons are pressed then B will come up but this is not ideal. When I check the OSC input of the buttons i get this "layer3/group (int 0 to 2) Well if I set it 0-2 on both buttons they do the same. Any one know the work around for this?

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: OSC Mapping A/B

Post by Joris »

The OSC address for the AB switch is expecting a value of 0, 1 or 2.

'/layer3/group 1' sets the AB switch for layer 3 to A
'/layer3/group 2' sets the AB switch for layer 3 to B
'/layer3/group 0' sets the AB switch for layer 3 to off

Hope that makes things a bit clearer.

mikedif
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 00:35

Re: OSC Mapping A/B

Post by mikedif »

Perfect thank you very much!

diegobattini
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 19:57

Re: OSC Mapping A/B

Post by diegobattini »

I can't solve this...

I made 2 toggle buttons in TouchOSC.

A: /layer3/group - Value Range from 0 to 1
B: /layer3/group - Value Range from 2 to 2

My problem is only with feedback, buttons works great and do the job.

If I press A, it lights up. If I press A again it lights off. Just like Resolume.
If I press B, button A lights up. But on Resolume is OK!

What I am doing wrong?

Thanks a lot!

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 651
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: OSC Mapping A/B

Post by pfelberg »

yeah... if you get to solve this, please let us know.
It seems some sort of bugging.
Are you using a PC or a Mac? What about your OSC device, Android or IOS?
I´d like some feedback info about iPad users.

diegobattini
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 19:57

Re: OSC Mapping A/B

Post by diegobattini »

Mac / iPad

I´ve finished my template.
Only thing I´d like to adjust is the visual feedback for some buttons...

/activeclip/video/position/direction
/layerx/group
/activeclip/video/tempo/timelinemode

:?

RichVisuals
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 09:10

Re: OSC Mapping A/B

Post by RichVisuals »

Bump, any solution to this for arena 6?

Downtown
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 21:56
Location: St Louis, MO

Re: OSC Mapping A/B

Post by Downtown »

diegobattini wrote:I can't solve this...

I made 2 toggle buttons in TouchOSC.

A: /layer3/group - Value Range from 0 to 1
B: /layer3/group - Value Range from 2 to 2

My problem is only with feedback, buttons works great and do the job.

If I press A, it lights up. If I press A again it lights off. Just like Resolume.
If I press B, button A lights up. But on Resolume is OK!

What I am doing wrong?

Thanks a lot!
A should be a range of 1 to 1
B would be a range of 2 to 2
off would be a range of 0 to 0

Check what Joris said.
Joris wrote:The OSC address for the AB switch is expecting a value of 0, 1 or 2.

'/layer3/group 1' sets the AB switch for layer 3 to A
'/layer3/group 2' sets the AB switch for layer 3 to B
'/layer3/group 0' sets the AB switch for layer 3 to off

Hope that makes things a bit clearer.
diegobattini wrote:Mac / iPad

I´ve finished my template.
Only thing I´d like to adjust is the visual feedback for some buttons...

/activeclip/video/position/direction
/layerx/group
/activeclip/video/tempo/timelinemode

:?
Similar situation. You should give them a range. Check this screenshot for more info.

Image

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2836
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: OSC Mapping A/B

Post by Oaktown »

The OSC commands for the A/B selectors /composition/layers/3/crossfadergroup and /composition/selectedlayer/crossfadergroup should be integers not ranges so 1=A, 2=B and 3=off

The OSC command for the fader /composition/crossfader/phase is a range from 0 to 1 with a range from -1 to 1 so 0=-1 (A), 1=1 (B) and 0.5=0 (center)

Post Reply