Three Screen Projection: Matrox TH2go DP Edition

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
vanderzee
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 02:32
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Three Screen Projection: Matrox TH2go DP Edition

Post by vanderzee » Mon Jun 23, 2014 01:41

How do I setup the Resolume4 output to allow the following projection:
Layer1 to go to Projector1
Layer2 to go to Projector2
Layer3 to go to Projector3

Thank you.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2817
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Three Screen Projection: Matrox TH2go DP Edition

Post by Oaktown » Mon Jun 23, 2014 06:49

Several ways to do it but here is a simple one:

In [Advanced Output]:

- Assign your TH2G to a screen

- Create 3 slices

- In input selection of each slice: select Layer 1, 2 or 3 as input Source

- In output transformation of each slice: size each slice to be ⅓ of the TH2G (left, center & right) and move them to be left, center and right of the screen

Voila!

vanderzee
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 02:32
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Re: Three Screen Projection: Matrox TH2go DP Edition

Post by vanderzee » Tue Jun 24, 2014 00:38

Thank you for your reply. I have tried to follow your instructions but I do not see anything called "output transformation" that allows me to size the slices. I can drag the corners of each slice to resize it and drag it around but that has no effect on what is being shown on my three external monitors. The user manual says I can enter "/3" and Resolume will do the calculation and to 1/3, but I do not see anywhere to enter this. I have used the TH2go with Isadora for years to do this. I am missing something??

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2817
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Three Screen Projection: Matrox TH2go DP Edition

Post by Oaktown » Tue Jun 24, 2014 01:27

Are you using Arena or Avenue 4?

If you are using Arena 4, your advanced output should look like this:
Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 5.19.45 PM.png
If your TH2G is 3072x768, your three slices would be 1024x768 and their placement when you click on each slice and select [Transform] would be:
- Left Screen: X Position=512 / Y Position=384
- Center Screen: X Position=1536 / Y Position=384
- Right Screen: X Position=2560 / Y Position=384

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Three Screen Projection: Matrox TH2go DP Edition

Post by Joris » Tue Jun 24, 2014 09:02

If you don't have the Output Transformation tab, you're running Avenue.

In Avenue, it's very simple to do as well:

Change your Comp Settings to be the size of your Trips output. Let's say that's 3072 x 768. If you have your Trips connected, Resolume will show you this as an option in the Comp Size dropdown.

Then turn on layer Width and Height for each layer. Resolume will default to the comp size, so this is where you can use '/3' to get each layer at 1024 x 768.

Then place each layer horizontally. Layer 1 should be at X Position -1024, Layer 2 can stay at 0, Layer 3 should be at X Position 1024.

Now every clip you play in each layer will scale and position to the left, middle or right, regardless of the original size or position.

Attached is a basic comp with the above settings.
BasicTripsSetup.png
If you want, you can get jiggy with extra layers that are set to scale over all three projectors, or combinations of two at a time.
Attachments
BasicTrips.avc
(25.21 KiB) Downloaded 124 times

vanderzee
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 02:32
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Re: Three Screen Projection: Matrox TH2go DP Edition

Post by vanderzee » Tue Jun 24, 2014 20:30

I have Avenue4. Thank you for the solution. I have it working now.

Post Reply