Triple wide content in standard raster

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Triple wide content in standard raster

Post by Joris » Tue Mar 15, 2016 17:16

Thanks for picking up the challenge.

It's especially interesting to see that just playing a single triplewide clip in a triplewide comp is faster than all the other workarounds. If OP's need for a workaround came from lack of performance using this method, I doubt the workarounds will actually improve anything.

It just goes to show that taking a whole bunch of pixels at the same time and doing operations on them is exactly what a GPU is good at. And it knows how to do it best. Often, the more you try to be smart and try to 'help' it, the more difficult you actually make it.

ReggieUnderground
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 08:15

Re: Triple wide content in standard raster

Post by ReggieUnderground » Tue Mar 15, 2016 18:43

Oaktown are you getting those benchmarks while actually having 3x 1080 monitors hooked up to the MBP? That's where it turned ugly for me.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2766
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Triple wide content in standard raster

Post by Oaktown » Tue Mar 15, 2016 18:55

No, I did the test in blind mode but I'll test again.

What's your setup? Are you using three 1080HD outputs (2 TB and 1 HDMI) or one video controller such as a Matrox TH2G?

ReggieUnderground
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 08:15

Re: Triple wide content in standard raster

Post by ReggieUnderground » Tue Mar 15, 2016 20:01

2x TB and HDMI

I was finally able to download your clip today--been on bad internet. I'll give it a go later.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2766
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Triple wide content in standard raster

Post by Oaktown » Tue Mar 15, 2016 20:11

Ok. I'll test with a similar setup and get back to you.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2766
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Triple wide content in standard raster

Post by Oaktown » Fri Mar 18, 2016 00:43

@ ReggieUnderground - Here is your answer:

phpBB [video]


on a MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013)
2.6 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB

Post Reply