How does Resolume handle DXV files and color profiles generated with After Effects?

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
vjgalaxy
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 16:55
Location: Spain

How does Resolume handle DXV files and color profiles generated with After Effects?

Post by vjgalaxy »

Hi guys, I would like to know how Resolume interprets DXV files generated with After Effects.

I am working on linear space inside AE. If I render Photo JPEG I get the correct colors, however if I render DXV, the color management is not correct. It seems like After Effects is not embedding the correct color profile or the rest of the applications (Resolume) are no recognizing it correctly.
Attachments
Arena_2017-03-11_21-54-15.png
Arena_2017-03-11_21-54-02.png
Alejandro Piñero Amerio
Video Design | Media Production

https://vjgalaxy.com

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1370
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: How does Resolume handle DXV files and color profiles generated with After Effects?

Post by Arvol »

What are y our DXV Export settings? Normal or High? All the other settings match up with those used with Photo JPEG?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4701
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: How does Resolume handle DXV files and color profiles generated with After Effects?

Post by Zoltán »

could it be the alpha type setting for the dxv file in resolume?

What happens when you render to dxv without the alpha channel?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

vjgalaxy
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 16:55
Location: Spain

Re: How does Resolume handle DXV files and color profiles generated with After Effects?

Post by vjgalaxy »

Hi there,

Everything match, indeed if I import the DXV into After Effects (set to Linearize Working Space - 32 bits), all looks good. I need Resolume to do the same footage interpretation than After Effects.
Attachments
2017-03-12_00-18-15.gif
Alejandro Piñero Amerio
Video Design | Media Production

https://vjgalaxy.com

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1370
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: How does Resolume handle DXV files and color profiles generated with After Effects?

Post by Arvol »

What does your AME settings look like, as well as your codec settings?

vjgalaxy
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 16:55
Location: Spain

Re: How does Resolume handle DXV files and color profiles generated with After Effects?

Post by vjgalaxy »

ravensc, when I render DXV (an other codecs like Pro Res and PNG) without alpha channel, the result is correct and there is not any gamma shift. Do you know why is this happening?
Last edited by vjgalaxy on Sun Mar 12, 2017 14:09, edited 1 time in total.
Alejandro Piñero Amerio
Video Design | Media Production

https://vjgalaxy.com

vjgalaxy
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 16:55
Location: Spain

Re: How does Resolume handle DXV files and color profiles generated with After Effects?

Post by vjgalaxy »

ravensc, when I render DXV (an other codecs like Pro Res and PNG) without alpha channel, the result is correct and there is not any gamma shift. Do you know why is this happening?
Alejandro Piñero Amerio
Video Design | Media Production

https://vjgalaxy.com

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4701
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: How does Resolume handle DXV files and color profiles generated with After Effects?

Post by Zoltán »

when I render DXV (an other codecs like Pro Res and PNG) without alpha channel, the result is correct and there is not any gamma shift. Do you know why is this happening?
when you import a file with alpha channel, then there is an Alpha type selector in the clip tab.
try setting it to the other setting to see if that helps.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: How does Resolume handle DXV files and color profiles generated with After Effects?

Post by Oaktown »

Why do you need color management? I would set Working Space to None to see if that fixes your problem.

anthonydiehl
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 21:12

Re: How does Resolume handle DXV files and color profiles generated with After Effects?

Post by anthonydiehl »

Anyone have success on getting to the bottom of this? There seems to be (at least) a midpoint/gamma shift that happens when encoding to DXV but likely a fully different colour profile happening here as the results are not easily predictable or fixable with a simple midpoint shift.

This should be flagged as a high priority item. A codec changing the look of your content is a big deal. At minimum, there should be a predictable way to correct for this.

Post Reply