R6 performance...

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
Luxcollective
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 22:33

R6 performance...

Post by Luxcollective » Sun Nov 26, 2017 01:52

Sooo... finally have some quiet time to start transitioning to R6 but.... I am seeing significantly less performance with r6 than 5.1.4 with large content (11520x1080 DXV HQ). It cruises at 40fps to 60fps on 5.1.4 but drops to 15-20FPS on R6. Simple 11520x1080 composition, 1 layer, straight playback, no effects (just for testing). Currently just mapping out single layer to a 1920x1080 monitor

Titan X Pascal 12 GB GPU
SSD Raid
8-core

Resource monitor is showing:
16% memory
11% cpu
16% GPU load

...so I don't know where the bottleneck is.

I thought R6 was supposed to be better/faster render engine. I am definitely not seeing that.

Thoughts?

Dragonsoulj
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 05:07

Re: R6 performance...

Post by Dragonsoulj » Sun Nov 26, 2017 02:31

Did you disable the video recording that gets turned back on?

Luxcollective
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 22:33

Re: R6 performance...

Post by Luxcollective » Sun Nov 26, 2017 02:58

If you mean the "record" function in Arena, it is not activated.

Dragonsoulj
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 05:07

Re: R6 performance...

Post by Dragonsoulj » Sun Nov 26, 2017 04:21

The "Record video" option in the settings was what I was referring to. The next thing would be your audio buffer. I've noticed times where having a buffer actually killed FPS. Beyond that, I'm not sure where to direct you.

User avatar
yochee
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 18:49
Location: Münster | Germany

Re: R6 performance...

Post by yochee » Sun Nov 26, 2017 13:51

I also have performance issues (already reported).

According to task manager
CPU load is at ~22% (Resolume = 19%)
RAM load is at ~22% (Resolume = 974,5 MB)

Takes ages to load the composition :(

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2797
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: R6 performance...

Post by Oaktown » Sun Nov 26, 2017 18:51

Have you tried to uninstall all previous installed version and do a clean install?

Luxcollective
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 22:33

Re: R6 performance...

Post by Luxcollective » Mon Nov 27, 2017 02:22

Looks like the only solution is sticking with DXV-normal when working in very high resolutions. I get back up to 60FPS on R6 with 11520x1080 using DVX Normal.

Sucks because DXV normal is very susceptible to compression artifacts and banding in gradients.

kman1898
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 04:15

Re: R6 performance...

Post by kman1898 » Wed Nov 29, 2017 04:23

I'm having the same issue... even down rendering to 30 fps I'm at 36% total usage but when i use Resolume 5 i'm at maybe 5% total usage. When i use 60fps its usage increases to like 42%

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3745
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: R6 performance...

Post by Zoltán » Mon Feb 05, 2018 19:43

We fixed some issues regarding buffering and improved performance quite dramatically, so make sure you check out 6.0.5 when it comes out.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

erikvenhues
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 01:29

Re: R6 performance...

Post by erikvenhues » Mon Feb 05, 2018 21:38

i have no fps issues.. but i have lags when lunching another clip.
Our Content is 5952 x 768 in DXV3 HQ and runs stable in 2-4 Layers at 120fps. But as soon you lunch a nother clip in same layers there is short dropout / lags. Hope it get fixed in 6.0.5.

Post Reply