[defect][source] 'Text Block' Generator source malforms characters when using default 'Arial Black' font

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
Dalvinio
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 00:42

[defect][source] 'Text Block' Generator source malforms characters when using default 'Arial Black' font

Post by Dalvinio » Sat Jan 13, 2018 17:03

OS: macOS Sierra 10.12.6
Resolume version: Arena 6.0.3 rev 60620

'Text Block' generator source does not properly display commonly used characters with default font 'Arial Black'.

Steps to reproduce:
1) Start a new composition.
2) In the Sources browser panel, pick 'Text Block' from Generators.
3) For the 'Text' setting of Text Block replace the text "Resolume" with "1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0".
4) Confirm the result in Output Monitor or Preview Monitor.

I only mention numerals in the 'Steps to reproduce' but there are more characters affected, like the 'M'.
Attachments
Arial Black misrendering.png

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3760
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: [defect][source] 'Text Block' Generator source malforms characters when using default 'Arial Black' font

Post by Zoltán » Sat Jan 13, 2018 21:56

Yes this happens sometimes, and corrupts the font cache.
Clearing the cache should get you back to the correct letters.
For this close Resolume,
remove /Users/YourUser/Library/Application Support/Resolume Arena 6/atlas folder
restart Resolume.

We don't know yet how this is triggered, seems to be quite rare and also random, so if you can recreate it after clearing the font cache, we'd love to hear the steps.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
manoeuvretv
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:27
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: [defect][source] 'Text Block' Generator source malforms characters when using default 'Arial Black' font

Post by manoeuvretv » Tue Jul 17, 2018 07:50

Is the current location of that folder C:\Users\YourUser\AppData\Local\Resolume Arena 6\atlas
Richard De Souza
MNVR
http://www.mnvr.tv

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3760
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: [defect][source] 'Text Block' Generator source malforms characters when using default 'Arial Black' font

Post by Zoltán » Tue Jul 17, 2018 08:46

manoeuvretv wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 07:50
Is the current location of that folder C:\Users\YourUser\AppData\Local\Resolume Arena 6\atlas
Yes, that's the path for windows.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply