Is piping sound with Sound Flower to Arena broken under High Sierra??

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
barthvis
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:37
Location: Netherlands

Is piping sound with Sound Flower to Arena broken under High Sierra??

Post by barthvis » Mon Jan 22, 2018 22:31

Is piping sound with Sound Flower to Arena broken under OS X 10.13.2 High Sierra??

I am used to use Soundflower to pipe sound from iTunes to Arena 6.
( https://github.com/mattingalls/Soundflower/releases/ )

That worked really good until I upgraded OS X to High Sierra.

Now Soundflower is still visible as an audio source in Arena but no sound gets through.
I was able to reproduce this on another (OS X 10.13.2) Mac too.

Can anyone confirm this problem?

Loopback ( https://rogueamoeba.com/loopback/ ) still works under Arena but is a very expensive alternative to Soundflower.
Last edited by barthvis on Tue Jan 23, 2018 08:12, edited 1 time in total.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3916
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Is piping sound with Sound Flower to Arena broken under High Sierra??

Post by Zoltán » Tue Jan 23, 2018 01:09

Does Soundflower work to other applications?

edit: got around to install SoundFlower on my high sierra machine and it works fine for me with Resolume 6.0.4
these are my settings in preferences:
Attachments
Képernyőfotó 2018-01-23 - 17.44.30.png
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
HardReturn
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 15:22

Re: Is piping sound with Sound Flower to Arena broken under High Sierra??

Post by HardReturn » Wed Jan 24, 2018 16:53

same issue. Soundflower worked before the latest update, I'm on el Capitan. It's not just you!

barthvis
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:37
Location: Netherlands

Re: Is piping sound with Sound Flower to Arena broken under High Sierra??

Post by barthvis » Wed Jan 24, 2018 17:38

Thanks for your reply. ;)
I see the same settings under Arena 6 as you do.
SoundFlower does show up in Arena 5 too but does not seem to pass the audio through.
I created a Multi-Output device in the Audio Midi Setup application with both SoundFlower and the Build In output active just to check if iTunes can be heard.

I tried another user (with admin rights) on the same machine to see if any prefs where corrupt.
I tested both Arena 5 & 6
I removed and reinstalled the SoundFlower kernel extension.
I checked the gain settings.

What other application do you recommend to check SF with?

User avatar
HardReturn
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 15:22

Re: Is piping sound with Sound Flower to Arena broken under High Sierra??

Post by HardReturn » Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:07

any progress on this?

Post Reply