Advanced output display selection different after restarting PC

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Cosmiclab
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 03:55

Advanced output display selection different after restarting PC

Post by Cosmiclab » Mon Feb 05, 2018 05:10

Hi,
After upgrading to resolume 6 the display selected for each Screen in the advanced output is not always the same after restarting the PC. As this is an installation that startsup/shutsdown automatically, there is no user there to select the correct display in advanced settings. Note that the cables and projectors/monitor have not been touched, and the display layout in Windows Display settings is always the same. Windows 10 was also upgraded, so maybe there is an issue with how Resolume gets display ID from Windows10?
In the attached images you can see the resolution in the Advanced Output for each display is different each time the PC restarts, but the display order in Windows10 remains correct. Any help much appreciated.

Resolume 6.0.4
Windows 10 Home v1709
GTX 1060

5 projectors & 1 monitor connected to GPU like this:
1 Datapath X4 to 3 projectors
2 projectors
1 monitor
Attachments
IMG_5593.jpg
IMG_5592.jpg
IMG_5579.jpg

Daniel
Team Resolume
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 13:42

Re: Advanced output display selection different after restarting PC

Post by Daniel » Thu Feb 08, 2018 17:01

Hey Cosmic Lab,

Next Monday I'm on the studio again and then I'll take a look at this issue.

Captainflo22
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:44

Re: Advanced output display selection different after restarting PC

Post by Captainflo22 » Sun Feb 11, 2018 15:45

hello resolume, i got an issue in the same like,
My real output format is 1280x800, in the advanced output tab, when i select my output, it give me 1920x1080.
format bug.PNG
next thing, i make my setup (masking, mapping) using the show in output to fit the mask to deco, looks fine
with show in output.PNG
When i desactivate show in output, everything go bad like resized lower exactly like seeing 1280x800 pixels in a 1920x1080 canvas :(
without show in output.PNG
I got this issue since the start of resolume 6

I'm on a Custom Clevo Laptop with a nVidia GTX 1080, I bought for that use

I don't have this issue using a Blackmagic Design UltraStudio SDI USB 3.0, only with the nVidia Output

I tried many setting in nVidia settings without any changes

secondly, Resolume is considered like a game by windows(xbox), and i can't remove the legacy game mode of windows :? is it a problem?

Thank you !

Daniel
Team Resolume
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 13:42

Re: Advanced output display selection different after restarting PC

Post by Daniel » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:44

Hey Captain,

If you go to your windows display preferences; is your secondary output on something else then 100% UI Scaling? If so, put it on 100% and the issue should get solved.

Don't worry about windows seeing Resolume as a game. It shouldn't have a lot of influence. My computer sees Resolume Arena as a game from the game "Total War: Arena" because of the arena.exe - Don't pay too much attention to it ;).

Captainflo22
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:44

Re: Advanced output display selection different after restarting PC

Post by Captainflo22 » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:50

Well thanks, i will try in a few hours

Regards.

Daniel
Team Resolume
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 13:42

Re: Advanced output display selection different after restarting PC

Post by Daniel » Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:56

@Cosmic Lab

I'm unable to replicate the problem here at the office.

Could you please share your full system specification? And if possible; also show which builds you are using of Windows, Nvidia & Resolume.

Cosmiclab
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 03:55

Re: Advanced output display selection different after restarting PC

Post by Cosmiclab » Wed Feb 14, 2018 02:27

@Daniel
sorry for the slow reply. Below are the PC specs,
and system report can be downloaded from here:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wt444w67h3aty ... 3.txt?dl=0

Windows 10 Home Version 10.0.14393 Build 14393
i7-7700 CPU @ 3.60GHz
RAM 16.0 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
NVIDIA Driver Version 23.21.13.9065
Resolume Arena 6.0.4
video outputs: 1 DataPathX4 2160p30, 2 projectors 1080p, 1 monitor

lin
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 09:43

Re: Advanced output display selection different after restarting PC

Post by lin » Fri Feb 16, 2018 21:11

Think have same problem.
After starting system from shutdown (cold boot) Resolume thinks something about displays are different.

Have to go into advanced output and redo connections of screens to displays.

Sometimes the windows 10 multi-displays settings dialog screen show a different ordering of the displays. Sometimes windows 10 multi-displays settings dialog screen does NOT show any changes.
On almost every reboot Resolume thinks something about the displays is different.

Resolume Arena 6.04
Lenovo Thinkstation P510 processor Xeon E5 and 8gb memory
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1709
Zotac Nvidia GTX 1080 with 4 displays connected (1 control and 3 for output)
Last edited by lin on Mon Feb 19, 2018 03:54, edited 4 times in total.

lin
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 09:43

Re: Advanced output display selection different after restarting PC

Post by lin » Sun Feb 18, 2018 01:33

Forgot to mention
1. I already checked windows 10 display settings dialog. All displays are at scale setting default value (100 percent).

2. Also most of the time the system is in a unattended auto start situation. The computer is setup to startup when power is turned on at the computer's electrical outlet (circuit breaker in building electrical panel is turned to on). There is a BIOS setting for system start when power restored ( we are not using wake on LAN).

3. Some of the displays outputs are on HDMI extenders (CATx type).

User avatar
yochee
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 18:49
Location: Münster | Germany

Re: Advanced output display selection different after restarting PC

Post by yochee » Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:26

I think I have had this problem for a long time. My trick is to fire up a colored windows backround so that all projectors are recognizing the incoming video signal. 10 secs after they set themselves accordingly to the incoming signal (usually some OSD stuff is showing up) I start Resolume.

I think its more a proble of consumer projectors. Even worse is the problem when disconnecting a cable during a show and reconnecting, usually the video output is moved a few (2-3) pixels to the left or the image is a little bit (2-3) pixel less wide. Trick to get back to the right resolution is to not save anything (= not save wrong display calibration) and restart the computer. I had this problem with my last 3 laptops

Post Reply