Page 1 of 1

Red streaks in output

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 22:59
by Mc128k
Hi all
I'm using a particular setup with an eGPU and Resolume 6, I must say that it works pretty well. One thing I noticed unfortunately is that the DVI output shows red streaks when the scene brightness is low. I believe it has to do with colors represented with small numbers, so parts of the composition which are very dark.

Actually I'm clueless here, I don't know even how to google it. I tried using a DP->DVI adapter and a different cable.

Before trying to exclude the video card (which is hard because the problem shows up only on the led wall and not on the home tv) I wanted to ask if anybody knows about this problem.

I attached a photo showing the defect. Bear in mind that I'm pretty sure it's not a resolume bug, but something with my setup.
Screen Shot 2018-02-16 at 22.55.50.jpg
Thanks

Re: Red streaks in output

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 23:49
by pfelberg
I bet this is something related wth the Led Panel Controller and not Resolume. Led panels usually don´t deal very well with color blends, specially with low res models.
Just my two cents.

Re: Red streaks in output

Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 18:05
by drazkers
You're LED panels don't step down to black uniformly so this is common with Chinese panels.

Re: Red streaks in output

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 15:26
by Mc128k
I thought about that, but apparently the problem doesn't show up with another computer with Resolume 5 and the exact same effect.

Is there anything I can do to debug the issue or gather more informations?

Re: Red streaks in output

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 19:34
by Zoltán
To debug make Resolume screenshots of the composition with control + shift + P.
Create a new composition, load this screenshot into this new composition, launch it, and set the output to Full Screen on Display - you use, or a new Advanced output preset where you don't do anything else than resizing slices.

Do this on both Resolume 5 and 6 with the same screenshot, and check if you see a difference.

Re: Red streaks in output

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 23:02
by Mc128k
Found it. It's the monitor color profile. Switch to srgb