Dome projection project with Resolume or....

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
jaydeeshow
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 15:29
Location: Toronto

Dome projection project with Resolume or....

Post by jaydeeshow »

Hi Guys,

I will have a dome projection project 25' radius in September.

I guess is not the simplest thing especially in Resolume. I might consider renting a Dataton with auto alignment, but before that, I'd like to know if anyone did it, and what steps should I take.

I'll use 5/6 projectors I guess.

Thank you for now.

Best,

J.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2836
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Dome projection project with Resolume or....

Post by Oaktown »

Take a look at this: http://www.blendyvj.com/dome/

jaydeeshow
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 15:29
Location: Toronto

Re: Dome projection project with Resolume or....

Post by jaydeeshow »

I actually read this into an old post. But no development, I'll dig into this.

Thank you for now.

willtom
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:28

Re: Dome projection project with Resolume or....

Post by willtom »

I'm considering at the moment doing projection on a sphere, which likely has enough similarities to a dome to be relevant. I can work out the first 359°, but so far I don't know if I'm able to do the blend on the outside edge in resolume. Any joy with your dome yet?

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2836
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Dome projection project with Resolume or....

Post by Oaktown »

When you said 359°, you mean you don’t know if you can wrap the whole thing around, right?

willtom
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:28

Re: Dome projection project with Resolume or....

Post by willtom »

I just don't know how to have the composition wrap around. Starting from the centre of the image at 0°, heading right and left as ±179° I can do the necessary blends, but when I get to the edge of the composition and want to wrap back to the other end I'm not sure how. Though whilst typing this I am wondering about using a couple of different input slices on the end projectors, that might have some mileage, will go try that out when I have time

willtom
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:28

Re: Dome projection project with Resolume or....

Post by willtom »

Right, I've thought of a way by using a virtual output, but can't find where the use a virtual output as an input slice. A quick search of the forums reveals this thread:
viewtopic.php?t=14434
Is this a function I'm able to use in v6?

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2836
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Dome projection project with Resolume or....

Post by Oaktown »

Take a look at this video which I hope will help with the wrap around.

phpBB [video]

willtom
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:28

Re: Dome projection project with Resolume or....

Post by willtom »

Thank you, very helpful

DomeLover
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 21:09

Re: Dome projection project with Resolume or....

Post by DomeLover »

Hi, If you are looking for a Windows 10 solution to map your Resolume project into a dome, check NestMap. It will do what you want and event do autocalibration with a webcam. Send your dome master video from Resolume to NestMap with Spout and Nestmap will do the real-time slicing and blending for you. Try the Beta version, it's free and it work great with many fisheye webcam and it's simple to use.

http://nestimmersion.ca/nestmap

Hope this help you !
More Dome for a world wide Domination !

Post Reply