Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
User avatar
cvanhoose
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 22:18

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by cvanhoose » Sat Jul 28, 2018 15:16

Also had this happen to me again at one of my installation sites. Lost all my midi settings and unable to reload them from the backup. Not even the default midi presets are available in the dropdown menu.
I finally had a chance to collect the documents folder and sending you a link.
I have tried to uninstall and reinstall with the same result. When I tried to zip the folder, I received this message. I had to rename the file "45" in order to zip it.
I notice that there are 2x "45degree" presets for "lines" on all my machines.
Attachments
Capture.PNG

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3761
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by Zoltán » Sat Jul 28, 2018 20:07

So how do you link these folders?
Is this H: an USB drive, or a network drive maybe?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
cvanhoose
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 22:18

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by cvanhoose » Sat Jul 28, 2018 20:23

Zoltán wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 20:07
So how do you link these folders?
Is this H: an USB drive, or a network drive maybe?
I do not link the folder. I just copied the documents folder to my usb device so that I could take it home and compress it for you.
All of my installations are on the c: drive with the OS.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3761
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by Zoltán » Sat Jul 28, 2018 20:30

cvanhoose wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 20:23
Zoltán wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 20:07
So how do you link these folders?
Is this H: an USB drive, or a network drive maybe?
I do not link the folder. I just copied the documents folder to my usb device so that I could take it home and compress it for you.
All of my installations are on the c: drive with the OS.
Oh, ok.
So then that's not a common thing with mfo's case.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by mfo » Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:43

Zoltán wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 09:45
Did you link the folder? With what method?
Via Symbolic Links (aka Symlinks). As discussed here: https://resolume.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 136#p64136

As said, it doesn't affect the other folders and their contents, only the MIDI settings.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3761
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by Zoltán » Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:29

I think mfo, and cvanhoose, are experiencing different issues.

@cvanhoose, The folder you sent us, still has the midi preset files, but they are not loadable any more by Resolume. They seem to be all 0-s in the file.
Did this start to happen after a crash or force close?

@mfo Does the factory preset-reset happen after a crash?
Could you try using Junction method instead of Symlink - with your data backed up first?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by mfo » Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:31

Hi Zoltan
the issue also happened (at least in the past) with un-linked folders.
And nope, no crash.
M

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3761
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by Zoltán » Sun Aug 12, 2018 11:10

The only way I can get Resolume to write the factory midi presets again is to remove the config.xml.
But in this case only the missing factory presets are written again, and the modified ones and the custom presets are left untouched.
Do you have a folder sync app running like dropbox or one drive syncing to these folders?
Do you use these sync accounts on multiple machines?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

jess
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 22:15

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by jess » Thu Jun 06, 2019 15:38

Same problem here, presets cannot be load because they don't appear in the folder were they should be (while they are, I checked)... So I don't manage to load them.

moldywood
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 10:40

Re: Midi Settings Lost + Work Around

Post by moldywood » Sun Jun 09, 2019 06:38

Ya, in the same boat. I need Arena to launch with the APC40's mode set to Generic, but it reverts back to the "Recommended" mode of Alternative Ableton Live Mode every time I launch Arena.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-06-09 at 12.38.30 PM.png

Post Reply