How to extend clip pixels on canvas?

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
Ra4bo
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 17:00

How to extend clip pixels on canvas?

Post by Ra4bo » Sun Oct 21, 2018 17:21

Hey, if I move a clip with Transform Position X or Y and I don't scale the clip to fit, there will be an empty area on the canvas. Adding another layer will reveal an ugly dividing line at the border of the transformed video.

Is there any function or effect to extend the bounds of a clip, i.e. if the video has a black border, filling the empty space with that color?

Thanks guys.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3758
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: How to extend clip pixels on canvas?

Post by Zoltán » Mon Oct 22, 2018 08:45

A solid color effect after transform with show image enabled and color set to black should do what you'd like.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: How to extend clip pixels on canvas?

Post by Oaktown » Mon Oct 22, 2018 15:25

Here is a short video showing another approach using blur and vignette.

phpBB [video]

Ra4bo
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 17:00

Re: How to extend clip pixels on canvas?

Post by Ra4bo » Tue Oct 23, 2018 23:04

Great suggestions, thank you both!

User avatar
AngeloDV
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 08:19
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How to extend clip pixels on canvas?

Post by AngeloDV » Sat Oct 27, 2018 09:04

To disable alpha I usually throw a cheap effect like Flip: disable the flip checkmark and enable black bg. This comes in handy also if you dont want alpha for the entire composition so you can stack slices in the advanced output
Image

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 317
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: How to extend clip pixels on canvas?

Post by francoe » Sat Oct 27, 2018 09:44

That's the pre-post mult-demult filter we lack of.
Dealing with this from 4, I use to believe solid color has lower impact on pipeline.

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: How to extend clip pixels on canvas?

Post by Joris » Sat Oct 27, 2018 20:18

I was wondering when you’d show up, Francoe. For real though, I’m honestly curious what you think a multiply filter would bring to the table that solid color with show image enabled doesn’t already do.

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 317
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: How to extend clip pixels on canvas?

Post by francoe » Mon Oct 29, 2018 19:11

Oh Joris, sorry, I'm not expecting a different behaviour or result.
Is just my kind of work use that process all the time. So I was using solid, flip, sometimes an inverted crop, even the reveal fx. I can do all the job with the bundled filters. But allways have the suspect that I'm doing something wrong because the use of filters that are not especifically designed for that (you know, I come from the node based school, stacking simple tasks).
I use to ask myself: is there an overprocess if I use that filter for an solid composite? Is certain filter adding weight to the pipeline if I use it for an alpha switch? etc..
Maybe I'm getting the best I can get, but the lack of an specific filter makes me doubt. :lol:

Post Reply