Adjusting content for LED wall

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
rexaffects
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 17:18

Adjusting content for LED wall

Post by rexaffects »

Hello, I have a gig coming up where I have been asked to resize my content to a 16:9 LED wall. On my previous gigs I have been able to plug and play with no adjusting. Do I need any more information from the venue? Also, how would I go about scaling my content to make sure it fits correctly and looks good on an LED wall? Any help would be greatly appreciated, this is a big opportunity for me.

Empyfree
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 23:36

Re: Adjusting content for LED wall

Post by Empyfree »

16:9 is pretty standard, what is your composition and content currently?

Scratchpole
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27

Re: Adjusting content for LED wall

Post by Scratchpole »

Have you watched the training videos: https://resolume.com/training/2/14/81

User avatar
gpvillamil
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 512
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: Adjusting content for LED wall

Post by gpvillamil »

Many LED wall controllers take a cropped section of the input signal, so that they might show a 640x360 crop of the top left of a 1280 x 720 video.

This is done to ensure 1:1 pixel mapping without scaling.

Things to ask:

1) what is the actual pixel resolution of the screen?
2) what is the dot pitch (ie pixel size)?
3) what is the allowed resolution of the video signal (this will be different from 1)
4) does the LED controller do scaling of the input signal?
5) color gamut / color profile (LEDs have brighter primary colors than you are used to, especially green)

If you get a chance, try to connect to their system and play the Resolume test card.

You can make the appropriate adjustments as a Composition level Transform, or even in Advanced Output.

Post Reply