Page 1 of 1

Help with MIDI IN/OUT / Card MIDI

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 11:04
by Aniro
Hello,

I have a problem to configure my set up.

I explain what I did before and what I would need the X32 to do ( if possible )

Im using Ableton Live and feed 8 channels of the mixer with it through X-USB.
On another computer Im using RESOLUME.


With my previous sound card it was easy to make the 2 PC communicate.

My audio PC ran an USB to a Presonus / MOTU or RME interface ( with MIDI IN and OUT ports )
From that interface I would plug Roland UM3 MIDI/USB Cable from MIDI OUT to USB port of the VIDEO PC.

Then a simple Midi track in ableton would launch CUes or clips in Resolume , no big deal.

NOW my sound interface is the intergrated X USB and since the X32 got MIDI ports I was thinking I could do the same but cant figure how to.
I have my Audio PC connected to X-USB and the MIDI/USB connected to the video PC.Looks like what I did with the other interface.

And Its a big problem because I now need to launch sound and video cues at the same time ... with one finger .

Anyone has an idea how to reproduce my older set up with the X32?

Thanks

PS.I really like the mixer though !



________________________
see more

Re: Help with MIDI IN/OUT / Card MIDI

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 13:51
by Zoltán
If you are using Ableton, you could find the Max4Live patches useful to launch clips in Resolume via OSC from Ableton. https://resolume.com/blog/8717/max-for- ... me-patches

If Midi is your thing, then you could get the same behavior over a wired network between the machines.
Have a look at RTPMidi here: https://www.tobias-erichsen.de/software/rtpmidi.html

Re: Help with MIDI IN/OUT / Card MIDI

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 19:26
by mowgli
Are the patches working in Arena 6? I have no probs getting them to work with 5 but no luck with 6.

Re: Help with MIDI IN/OUT / Card MIDI

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 21:17
by Zoltán
mowgli wrote:
Sat Mar 09, 2019 19:26
Are the patches working in Arena 6? I have no probs getting them to work with 5 but no luck with 6.
Which version of the patches are you trying with Arena 6?

Re: Help with MIDI IN/OUT / Card MIDI

Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 15:14
by mowgli
I just realised there's an update