Rotating Input Kills Softedge

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
movebandit
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 20:49
Location: Germany,Bielefeld

Rotating Input Kills Softedge

Post by movebandit » Mon Feb 18, 2019 22:47

When rotating an Input Slice the Softedge dissappears.....Big Problem cause i need to Softedge 2 Projectors that are not in the same angel...any workarounds ? Tried different routings with dummy softedge Slices, but nothing worked as it should...

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5122
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Rotating Input Kills Softedge

Post by Joris » Tue Feb 19, 2019 00:14

Sorry bud. Turns out the math for blending rotated surfaces is ridiculously hard.

If you're desperate, you could try taking your rotated slices and send them 1:1 into a virtual screen each, making each virtual the size of the rotated bounds of its input, blend those virtuals, and then in the actual output screens, slice out the rotated shape from the virtuals and rotate that upright to send to the projector. The physical rotation will put the image straight again, and it should have the blend in the correct corners. Theoretically.

If that is making your head spin, it's exactly what we'd need to calculate for you in offscreen render targets in order to have rotated blends. And it's making our head spin too.

movebandit
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 20:49
Location: Germany,Bielefeld

Re: Rotating Input Kills Softedge

Post by movebandit » Tue Feb 19, 2019 02:53

oops. I think i got a little dizzy from all that headspinning,layering and virtual screenshooting. But thanks for the help in the earliest morning. Honestly: I dont get it. Tried several options, Routings, madmapper via Sput (only to get the softedge curve as a slice, but doesnt work, alpha is not working as i want to), Mapio etc. Think its time to sleep for a while, but if you could help me in any way with an example: I attached my actual screensetup (doesnt work cause im stuck with the Blending).....
https://www.dropbox.com/s/i4623vcf34sbl ... 1.xml?dl=0

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5122
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Rotating Input Kills Softedge

Post by Joris » Tue Feb 19, 2019 09:58

Gave it 10 minutes, but no. Pretty sure the theory holds up (you don't even need to rotate the slices first, you can just sample the blend) but the way aspect ratios work in routed slices make it too messy for me on a Tuesday morning.

I hear Madmapper can do rotated blends though. Maybe give that a try?

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5122
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Rotating Input Kills Softedge

Post by Joris » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:41

Or Blendy maybe?

Post Reply