Blackmagic Decklink and Resolume Arena 16:10 Aspect Ratio?

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
dschumacher
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 23:03

Blackmagic Decklink and Resolume Arena 16:10 Aspect Ratio?

Post by dschumacher » Mon Aug 19, 2019 22:37

Does anyone have any experience getting Resolume Arena to display video content at a 16:10 aspect ratio when using any of the Blackmagic Decklink cards as your output? The DeckLink Quad 2 is the card being used in our system and there doesn't seem to be a way to force a 16:10 Aspect Ration/Resolution.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2824
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Blackmagic Decklink and Resolume Arena 16:10 Aspect Ratio?

Post by Oaktown » Thu Aug 22, 2019 03:58

16:10 is a computer resolution and Blackmagic only does SMPTE resolutions so it’s not possible to output 16:10 with a Decklink card.

Empyfree
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 23:36

Re: Blackmagic Decklink and Resolume Arena 16:10 Aspect Ratio?

Post by Empyfree » Thu Aug 22, 2019 05:58

You could create a 16:10 ratio slice within a 16:9 output. You’ll be wasting pixels, but it might get you out of a jam if you absolutely have to fill a specific screen somewhere.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2824
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Blackmagic Decklink and Resolume Arena 16:10 Aspect Ratio?

Post by Oaktown » Thu Aug 22, 2019 16:48

Or scale a 16:10 input in a 16:9 output. But either way you go you’ll probably need a scaler in line to crop/scale unless your PJs have that capability onboard.

Post Reply