Working with masks

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
Liza Renee
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:07

Working with masks

Post by Liza Renee »

Hey guys,

I think I have a problem with a simple solution, but I can't seem to find it, could you help me out?

I have made a simple loop with white moving shapes. I want to use this loop as mask for the layer underneath it. So for example, when I have the white shape loop in layer 3 (the top layer), and layer 3 is set to '50 mask', I can make layer 2 (the middle layer) appear only in the shapes of this white shape loop.
But unfortunately, Resolume also applies this mask effect to layer 1 (the bottom layer).
How can I make sure the bottom layer is not effected?

Thank you!

VJ Liza Renee

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 651
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: Working with masks

Post by pfelberg »

Instead of using blend mode to mask, just set Layer3 (the top layer) as Mask to Layer2 (middle layer).
Right-click on layer name, scroll down to MASK MODE and set it to ONE BELOW.
I hope this is what you are looking for.

Paulo

Liza Renee
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:07

Re: Working with masks

Post by Liza Renee »

Paulo,
Yes thank you for solving my problem!

Post Reply