How to get NDI to work well with Resolume?

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
DaleReindeer
Is taking Resolume on a second date

How to get NDI to work well with Resolume?

Post by DaleReindeer »

I feel NDI *could* be the future. I am trying to get it to work with Resolume and am having issues. Therefore I would like to reach out and see what we can do!

I have recorded the first issue where I cannot dim the video at all. Please see here: https://youtu.be/ycVYRJID52M

As you can see there is some issue when dimming the video. It shows it correctly on the screen but does not show it on the projector through NDI.

Is this common to have errors with NDI? Or, am I a total newb that doesn't have some arcane checkbox selected somewhere deep in preferences?

In any case I would love to solve this one so we can document and fox the issue and move onto the new one!

Thank you for any help or tips!

Arvol
Might as well join the team

Re: How to get NDI to work well with Resolume?

Post by Arvol »

Thanks for the video, that's super helpful.

I'm not having any issues on my end using NDI Studio Monitor, so it looks like it's a hardware issue. Here's a video of it working for me:

phpBB [video]

DaleReindeer
Is taking Resolume on a second date

Post by DaleReindeer »

Thanks for taking the time to make that video! I will test with that monitor.

When it comes to hardware to convert that NDI to another (like HDMI) do you have any experience there or any tips?

These Magewell devices are $400 a pop so I figure they should actually work haha. Maybe I should try Bird Dog?

Zoltán
Team Resolume

Post by Zoltán »

Maybe the device is unable to process the alpha channel. To check this quickly, try the Solid color effect on the Composition, with Show image enabled, and color set to black.
That should work to fool the NDI converter.
Attachments
Képernyőfotó 2021-04-08 - 0.15.51.png
Software developer, Sound Engineer,