Major problem when using midi controller

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
DayVeeJay
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 23:38
Location: Chicago, IL

Major problem when using midi controller

Post by DayVeeJay »

I'm finally starting to use my Korg MicroKontrol keyboard with resolume and it is a huge help. I have three global effects loaded and a fader assigned to the opacity the opacity of each. When I pull the fader assigned to an opacity down to zero, a clip that was played earlier flashes for a second (whether it is in one of the three layers or not). Resolume was also setting many of the opacity faders to automation mode on it's own.

You can see the specs of my computer here:
http://www.resolume.com/forum/viewthrea ... 6#pid15447

I will be recording a demo tonight and will run resolume in debug mode

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
juLiE
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:30
Location: Lyon/Detroit

Re: Major problem when using midi controller

Post by juLiE »

i know this is an old posting, but i thought i'd share my experiences with the microkontrol too

i first bought the nanoseries and broke too many piano keys on the nanokey (yet the nanokontrol is good) so i resorted to stepping back in time and buying the older korg, wanting a more rigid piano (and the nanoseries was great for small places, but...). nano posting: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4189

everything works fine except slider 2 mimics slider 1 at times and sometimes slider 1 continues changing on it's own after not touching it - it's programmed as a scratch controller. so i changed channels, changed CC#s, re-wrote the scene data, updated with new driver, updated the firmware, etc. yet the behavior persists.

overall, everything else is fine. however, i find the pads a bit stiff to push and the keys smaller than i expected, but the unit is durable and i know (assume) the piano keys will stay intact as i try to play like jerry lee lewis, ha! ha! ;)

the amazing jerry lee lewis!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8yRdDnrB5kM

ps: forgot to mention that i tested using the nanoKONTROL with the microKONTROL and both work fine together (i have 5 usb ports on my laptop, nice, eh?!)

UPDATED: my material list with images & descriptions from late 1990's to 2009 - from 16mm to VJ software
http://julie.meitz.free.fr/vj/vj_setup/index.html


et voila...

Eli
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 21:38

Re: Major problem when using midi controller

Post by Eli »

Hi,
I have a question.
I have 2 controllers (both nano korg). how can i map the controllers and use them on the same time? do u know some link about it?

:)

ChrisVids
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 09:58

Re: Major problem when using midi controller

Post by ChrisVids »

for me this isn't a problem at all - you have to pay attention that they send different midi notes. you can either try using different scenes, they could have different notes or download the korg control editor here http://www.korg.com/support and set the notes manually. and of course activate both in the resolume preferences.

User avatar
juLiE
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:30
Location: Lyon/Detroit

Re: Major problem when using midi controller

Post by juLiE »

Or creating different CHANNELS for each unit, for example ;
Nano Kontrol #1 = Channel 1
Nano Kontrol #2 = Channel 2 (or 3, 4, 5...)
2013 - Present: Dell Inspiron 7720 laptop, Win 7 sp1, Nividia GeForce GT 650M
2008 - 2012: Dell Vostro 1700 laptop, Win XP sp3, Nividia GeForce 8600M GT
2004 - 2008: Mini PC ITX...
Official Website: http://www.juliemeitz.com

Post Reply