finding logfile / memory leak ( ? ) / cant start avenue

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
User avatar
VJair
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 21:23
Location: Kent - UK

finding logfile / memory leak ( ? ) / cant start avenue

Post by VJair »

where do i find the logfile to send in?

i had a big crash last night whilst in a club - it was a complete show stopper, i literaly had to show the promoter i couldnt get avenue to boot with any composition at all. ive thoroughly tested it at home for many hours and not suffered any big crashes, so i thought it was safe to use live - and because of this, id made the comp in avenue 4, not avenue 3, so i couldnt even load it in version 3.

i noticed before avenue bombed, it said "low memory" in red on the bottom right of the avenue screen and after it bombed i checked the task manager and watched the amount of available ram ticking down quite rapidly even though no other aps were running ( other than standard windows stuff )

i now cant get avenue 4 to boot at all with any of the comps ive used / made before with avenue 4.

this is on a well tried and tested laptop that hasnt bombed for me with anything else.

any thoughts / ideas / help ?

win 7 64bit / 4gb ram / core i5 2.4ghz / 2.4ghz / ati 5650

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: finding logfile / memory leak ( ? ) / cant start avenue

Post by cosmowe »

Oh dear...thats not nice to hear! I hope your client still loves you?!
where do i find the logfile to send in?
You can see and send the logfile here: Resolume / Preferences / Feedback / seelog


I have some additional questions about your "crash/f***", because I had a show last weekend...and it worked great:

- did you used midi / osc / smpte / artnet ?
- did you used flash?
- everything dxv?
- any third party software for sequencing or something similar?
- virtual midi cables?
- external or internal soundcard?



greets
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

User avatar
VJair
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 21:23
Location: Kent - UK

Re: finding logfile / memory leak ( ? ) / cant start avenue

Post by VJair »

You can see and send the logfile here: Resolume / Preferences / Feedback / seelog - i can find a preferences folder, but not a feedback folder and windows cant find a file called seelog


I have some additional questions about your "crash/f***", because I had a show last weekend...and it worked great:

- did you used midi / osc / smpte / artnet ? - a midi controller
- did you used flash? - no
- everything dxv? - yes
- any third party software for sequencing or something similar? - no
- virtual midi cables? - no
- external or internal soundcard? - internal, but no audio used

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: finding logfile / memory leak ( ? ) / cant start avenue

Post by cosmowe »

You can see and send the logfile here: Resolume / Preferences / Feedback / seelog - i can find a preferences folder, but not a feedback folder and windows cant find a file called seelog
:mrgreen: Don't search in the windows explorer :mrgreen: ....open R4 click preferences in R4 then...Feedback...and there you will find seelog.... *smile*...sorry that was a bit funny....but I'm drunk too right now...so nevermind! :P
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

User avatar
VJair
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 21:23
Location: Kent - UK

Re: finding logfile / memory leak ( ? ) / cant start avenue

Post by VJair »

see thread title - cant start avenue ;)

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: finding logfile / memory leak ( ? ) / cant start avenue

Post by cosmowe »

:oops: cant start avenue...sound like that you can't start avenue :roll:

In that case...did you tried to move all composition files out of the composition folder...to force R4 to start with a blank composition?

greetz
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

User avatar
VJair
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 21:23
Location: Kent - UK

Re: finding logfile / memory leak ( ? ) / cant start avenue

Post by VJair »

so am i likely to loose any logfile that i have hiden away on my machine if i try moving the compositions to get avenue to start?

im keen to try and help track down this problem as its a copmplete show stopper.

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: finding logfile / memory leak ( ? ) / cant start avenue

Post by cosmowe »

Good point - That's a question for goto&co.... I have no f****** idea 8-)

If you get a feedback from support...may you share it here?


greetz&good luck
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

User avatar
VJair
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 21:23
Location: Kent - UK

Re: finding logfile / memory leak ( ? ) / cant start avenue

Post by VJair »

more than happy to share info... just need to know what to do next first...

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: finding logfile / memory leak ( ? ) / cant start avenue

Post by cosmowe »

sometimes a direct mail to mail@resolume.com helps a bit faster.
Your problem sounds very urgent.
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

Post Reply