Page 1 of 1

Way to disable layer blending?

Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:43
by hyp
So I've created several logos that have an alpha channel, rendered out at DXV. When I load them up on the topmost layer, I would like for the the logo to be 100% opaque. What seems to be happening is that no matter what layer blending mode I use, the bottom layers are still blending with the logos. The alpha channel works fine, but blending still occurs, as if there is some transparency in my logo even when using the Alpha blend mode.

Am I missing something or is it not possible to retain the 100% opaque value of my video? Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 14:59
by pfelberg
As far as I know, when you have an alpha channel embebed in your clip, no matter what blending mode you are using, it will allways respect your clip alpha, unless you disable "A" in your clip properties panel. And whenever I have alphas on clips I just leave blending mode as "add".
Sounds like your original alpha is not 100% opaque where it should. Have you closely checked the alpha channel in photoshop already?

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 22:09
by hyp
Weird because both After Effects and Photoshop show that I have a true alpha channel on my video clip. Iʻve attached an image as proof – itʻs showing all white on the parts that are visible.

Are there any other settings I should be looking for? My gig is tomorrow so any urgent help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 22:31
by hyp
Attached are two images, one with how the alpha channel looks in After Effects, and an example of the same setup used in Resolume. As you can see, the layer blending mode is on Add, placed on the topmost layer and it still shows transparency through the layer below.

AFTER EFFECTS
009 - galaxo_720p (0.00.04.06).jpg
009 - galaxo_720p (0.00.04.06).jpg (207.86 KiB) Viewed 5187 times
RESOLUME
Screen Shot 2012-09-07 at 11.28.06 AM.png
Screen Shot 2012-09-07 at 11.28.06 AM.png (670.37 KiB) Viewed 5187 times

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 22:33
by cvanhoose
Grouping, you are on both A and B.

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 22:53
by hyp
cvanhoose wrote:Grouping, you are on both A and B.
Man, you just saved the day with that single line. Thank you good sir!

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 00:36
by cvanhoose
Cheers! Im glad my first post was a helpful one.

Re: Way to disable layer blending?

Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 04:04
by hyp
cvanhoose wrote:Cheers! Im glad my first post was a helpful one.
Definitely, you saved me a bunch of headaches.