FreeframeGL ShaderLoader

FFGL, OSC, GLSL. If you like abbreviations, this is the forum for you
docoptic
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 01:19
Location: SF Bay Area/Hawaii

Re: FreeframeGL ShaderLoader

Post by docoptic »

This is great, thanks for sharing. I've had success compiling plugins using the Mac OSX build, however Resolume does not acknowledge it in the Effects list if you change the name of the FFGL plugin. Works fine if you leave the name as default: ShaderMaker.bundle.

Any other Mac users had success with renaming? It would be nice to have more than one Shadertoy FFGL plugin available in the Effects list to create a deck full of these. Hoping it's just some newbie error on my end.

leadedge
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 13:58

Re: FreeframeGL ShaderLoader

Post by leadedge »

Just to be clear. Are you also changing both the ID and Name in "PluginInfo" within "ShaderMaker.cpp"?

docoptic
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 01:19
Location: SF Bay Area/Hawaii

Re: FreeframeGL ShaderLoader

Post by docoptic »

Yes, I am. There was a workaround posted that involves saving the same file in different folders which works if anyone else is having this issue and wants to start bulding a set.

leadedge
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 13:58

Re: FreeframeGL ShaderLoader

Post by leadedge »

Is there a link to that workaround post?

docoptic
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 01:19
Location: SF Bay Area/Hawaii

Re: FreeframeGL ShaderLoader

Post by docoptic »


Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: FreeframeGL ShaderLoader

Post by Joris »

I don't think you can get away with just renaming the .bundle file like that.

When renaming Product Name in the Target Build Settings before building, things seem to go okay for me.
Screen Shot 2015-03-29 at 18.35.07.png

docoptic
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 01:19
Location: SF Bay Area/Hawaii

Re: FreeframeGL ShaderLoader

Post by docoptic »

That's good to know, thanks Joris. The readme mentions just renaming the file itself which is what caused some confusion. Will definitely try that.

Update: Worked great!

leadedge
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 13:58

Re: FreeframeGL ShaderLoader

Post by leadedge »

Thanks Joris. I will look at updating the documentation.

leadedge
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 13:58

Re: FreeframeGL ShaderLoader

Post by leadedge »

Some bug fixes - see source for details (search "30.03.15") :
. Set m_glTextureXX to zero after delete
. Check for incoming Texture ID change
. Viewport check in ProcessOpenGL
. Documentation update

https://github.com/leadedge/ShaderMaker/releases

- - - -

leadedge
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 13:58

Re: FreeframeGL ShaderLoader

Post by leadedge »

A question for Joris.

I have found an unusual effect related to the texture that the plugin receives.

If ShaderMaker is compiled for a shader that uses a texture, dropped into an empty cell and activated with a click, a black texture is apparently received but the ID oscillates e.g. 21,22,21,22 etc. That's fine because as soon as an image is dropped over the plugin, or the plugin is dropped on an image, the texture ID is steady e.g. 22.

The strange thing is that some movie clips I have, result in an oscillating ID e.g. 35,36,35,36 etc. But some other clips show a steady ID. What do you think is going on here.

Post Reply