Crashing Arena with a QC source

FFGL, OSC, GLSL. If you like abbreviations, this is the forum for you
Post Reply
flo
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 22:30

Crashing Arena with a QC source

Post by flo »

Hi folks,

recently I ran into crashes caused by some quartz-composer sources which I use to generate text in resolume arena.
To reproduce the crashes, load the attached qc-file in a layer or in the preview monitor and for example pull the kerning-slider to maximum and... crash! There are other combinations of parameter-values that can cause the crash but this one seems the easiest to reproduce.
This happens in the actual arena version (5.1.2) but also in arena 4.1.6.
I am not a qc-guru, so maybe the qc-progrmaming can be done avoiding to crash arena, but I don't know how to do so.

Regards
flo
Attachments
allround_new.qtz.zip
(3.09 KiB) Downloaded 517 times
______________________________________________
Sys specs:
Arena 7.14.1 / MacBookPro9,1 / NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M / OSX 10.15.7

Scratchpole
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27

Re: Crashing Arena with a QC source

Post by Scratchpole »

No problem running this in 5.0.1 in my quick test.
Nothing about the composition seems awry to me when opened in QC.

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Crashing Arena with a QC source

Post by Joris »

Works for me as well on 5.1.2.

Btw, it looks like you're using this to make a horizontal scroller. If that's the case, you can use the Display Width output of the image created by the Image With String patch to see how wide the text is. Then you can calculate the limits of the X Position value to make sure the animation starts exactly off screen left and ends exactly off screen right.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7106
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Crashing Arena with a QC source

Post by Zoltán »

I can replicate the crash on 5.0.2 as well as on 5.1.2,
2012 mpb, gt650m, El Capitan.
Képernyőfotó 2016-11-01 - 10.56.25.png
Képernyőfotó 2016-11-01 - 10.56.25.png (21.26 KiB) Viewed 11807 times
the crash log is attached.
phpBB [video]
Attachments
qt crash.txt.zip
(25.62 KiB) Downloaded 495 times
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Crashing Arena with a QC source

Post by Joris »

Here's the relevant part from the log:

Code: Select all

Thread 29 Crashed:
0   com.apple.CoreFoundation      	0x9bd1a093 CFRetain + 179
1   com.apple.CoreImage           	0x9496eb63 CI::GLTextureManager::request_intermediate_for_node(CI::Node const*, CGRect const&) + 1057
2   com.apple.CoreImage           	0x9480d4fa CI::Context::recursive_render(CI::Node*, CGRect const&, CI::Node*) + 326
3   com.apple.CoreImage           	0x9480d4b4 CI::Context::recursive_render(CI::Node*, CGRect const&, CI::Node*) + 256
4   com.apple.CoreImage           	0x9480d4b4 CI::Context::recursive_render(CI::Node*, CGRect const&, CI::Node*) + 256
and

Code: Select all

33  com.apple.QuartzComposer      	0x98eafd7b -[QCGraphicsContext renderPatch:time:arguments:] + 86
34  com.apple.QuartzComposer      	0x98eaed40 -[QCOpenGLContext renderPatch:time:arguments:] + 579
35  com.apple.QuartzComposer      	0x98eaeaf2 -[QCPatch(Runtime) render:arguments:] + 79
36  com.apple.QuartzComposer      	0x98ed60be -[QCRenderer renderAtTime:arguments:] + 57
37  com.resolume.arena            	0x002e5076 0x1000 + 3031158
38  com.resolume.arena            	0x002e369b 0x1000 + 3024539
39  com.resolume.arena            	0x002e7bf5 0x1000 + 3042293
40  com.resolume.arena            	0x0015c6c3 0x1000 + 1423043
The important thing to note that QC crashes, and then takes Arena with it. Recursive rendering would imply that it crashes in the blur pass.

flo
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 22:30

Re: Crashing Arena with a QC source

Post by flo »

Thank you all for your testing and the answers.
So it could be a that the qtz-file has an error and causes the crash?
In my testing I realized, that the crash happens when the video memory is nearly at capacity limit. Could that cause the crash?

Regards
flo
______________________________________________
Sys specs:
Arena 7.14.1 / MacBookPro9,1 / NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M / OSX 10.15.7

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7106
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Crashing Arena with a QC source

Post by Zoltán »

I removed the blur from the signal path and I couldn't get it to crash.
There is a blur effect in resolume you could throw on the QC clip.
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

flo
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 22:30

Re: Crashing Arena with a QC source

Post by flo »

Gold idea, to remove the blur. I'll try that later.

flo

Post Reply