Convert GSLS for FFGL for Resolume?

FFGL, OSC, GLSL. If you like abbreviations, this is the forum for you
rdpozo
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 15:11

Convert GSLS for FFGL for Resolume?

Post by rdpozo »

Hi,

I have been using Max/MSP Jitter for a lot of years, before I discovered Resolume. Life was just made simple.
But in my artistic expression I have grown very dependant on some effects, which I tried to port to FFGL my self without luck. I simply do not understand this language. It is a bit over my head.

I was wondering if there would be anyone on this forum that would help me port 3 effekts. Attached are the GSLS code.

I do not know how much work this would entail, but I would greatly appreciate the effort.

A slide effect: https://www.dropbox.com/s/v1eq2lrc8ktqo ... e.txt?dl=0
A Brightness, contrast and alpha effect: https://www.dropbox.com/s/pk571xty1yavb ... a.txt?dl=0
An ergebend and gamma effect: https://www.dropbox.com/s/v87dddmncdz3g ... B.txt?dl=0

Thanks for reading :)
Last edited by rdpozo on Tue Mar 06, 2018 19:02, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: Convert GSLS for FFGL for Resolume?

Post by francoe »

rdpozo, first link is wrong, check it out.
Do you undestand these shaders? Can you port it to shadertoy?

Sadler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 23:55

Re: Convert GSLS for FFGL for Resolume?

Post by Sadler »

I've tried my best with the CBS plugin though it interprets black as alpha. See if it is the same effect as you were expecting. 0.5 is the baseline for each parameter. 64 bit.
Contrast_Brightness_Saturation.rar
(79.38 KiB) Downloaded 614 times

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: Convert GSLS for FFGL for Resolume?

Post by francoe »

Sadler, can you share the code?
rdpozo, can you point out what's the interest in this process compared to the brightness/contrast filter bundled on resolume?
Here is running on shadertoy, play with it.
https://www.shadertoy.com/view/XdtcWj
I can compile an ffgl with that for osx if you need.

rdpozo
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 15:11

Re: Convert GSLS for FFGL for Resolume?

Post by rdpozo »

WOW!
@Sadler! Thanks for taking the time. I really appreciate it. I'll test it today.
@Francoe, I dont understand the shaders, if you mean the coding. I'm not sure what shader toy is.
I'll check out your link. Thank you for getting involved.

rdpozo
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 15:11

Re: Convert GSLS for FFGL for Resolume?

Post by rdpozo »

eh, how do I install it? I'm on Mac. I'm pretty new to Resolume.

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: Convert GSLS for FFGL for Resolume?

Post by francoe »

rdpozo wrote:eh, how do I install it? I'm on Mac. I'm pretty new to Resolume.
Sadler's file is for windows.
Again - 1. I don't know what's the difference of using this code instead of brightness/contrast and saturation filters of resolume. Can you explain it? (I will try to post a mac ffgl later to see if that's you want).

Again - 2. The slider fx link is wrong, check it out.

In third place, I was dealing with the alpha gradient without success. Can you show me a simple screenshot of an image with that filter applied? I wanna figure out what we are trying to achieve.

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: Convert GSLS for FFGL for Resolume?

Post by francoe »

Try this.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Qofls ... wzrfZOK3AW
I still can´t undestand what is the pretended process with the alpha channel (green values multiplied by 1).

rdpozo
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 15:11

Re: Convert GSLS for FFGL for Resolume?

Post by rdpozo »

francoe wrote:
rdpozo wrote:eh, how do I install it? I'm on Mac. I'm pretty new to Resolume.
Sadler's file is for windows.
Again - 1. I don't know what's the difference of using this code instead of brightness/contrast and saturation filters of resolume. Can you explain it? (I will try to post a mac ffgl later to see if that's you want).

Again - 2. The slider fx link is wrong, check it out.

In third place, I was dealing with the alpha gradient without success. Can you show me a simple screenshot of an image with that filter applied? I wanna figure out what we are trying to achieve.
Hi there Francoe. Thanks for letting me know. I fixed the link.

What I have used brightness/contrast for is that it treats black as alpha, so if you have two video layers everything black would be transparent.


Here is an example image of 2 layers of video. One static with only background colours and the other of some flowers/trees.

Thanks for trying to help me out. I really appreciate it.
Attachments
IMG_0141.jpg

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: Convert GSLS for FFGL for Resolume?

Post by francoe »

Ok. In fact, your code is taking values from green channel and assign it to alpha. I will check how to improve it (you can see right now is just making the whole thing semitransparent, needs to ramp the values).
Are you aware that you can have that using the blend modes, right?
Lighten, Luma is Alpha and Lumakey can be your new friends. :D

Post Reply