Page 1 of 1

OSC Int value to control blendmode

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 06:45
by vjmandala
Hi all, I followed instructions at https://resolume.com/support/en/osc#sen ... o-resolume
to create a button to set blendmode. In TouchOSC editor I type in
/composition/selectedlayer/video/mixer/blendmode 5
or
/composition/selectedlayer/video/mixer/blendmode 5
Neither do anything. Prefs/OSC show OSC commands coming through but no worky.
fyi>> Type Tags 'F' and Values 'Float##'
Should that not sho 'i' and 'Int##'?
Cheers.

Re: OSC Int value to control blendmode

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 09:47
by Joris
It shows what it receives. Looks like TouchOSC sends its values as floats (5.0) , not ints (5).

To get this to work, there would need to be a setting in TouchOSC that explicitly forces it to send the value as an int.

Re: OSC Int value to control blendmode

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 23:28
by vjmandala
Thanks. I assumed as much, but cannot find anything. Even if I use: /composition/selectedlayer/video/mixer/blendmode "Alpha" it no worky :(

Though the odd thing is that to trigger a clip (with int value) the same button works fine!

note: In pic below it shows I have added /int to string, that was me experimenting post issue at hand..

Re: OSC Int value to control blendmode

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 23:54
by Joris
You'll need to contact TouchOSC support on how to send an int from their software :/

Re: OSC Int value to control blendmode

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 23:57
by vjmandala
eg Resolume output

Re: OSC Int value to control blendmode

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 00:02
by Joris
Yes, I understand that. You're still sending a float message.

The type of the OSC message (float or int) is decided by the program that sends the OSC.

We don't make TouchOSC. The developer of TouchOSC can tell you how you can send an int from TouchOSC.

Re: OSC Int value to control blendmode

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 00:04
by Joris
Or you could do the math and send 5 divided by the number of blends.

Re: OSC Int value to control blendmode

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 00:20
by vjmandala
Will do, cheers :)
Joris wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 23:54
You'll need to contact TouchOSC support on how to send an int from their software :/

Re: OSC Int value to control blendmode

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 00:32
by vjmandala
Nice suggestion, but no worky :(
I have sent email to TouchOSC, waiting for a response - will post that response here in case anyone else has this issue.
Joris wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 00:04
Or you could do the math and send 5 divided by the number of blends.

Re: OSC Int value to control blendmode

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:23
by Joris
Or you could do the math and send 5 divided by the number of blends.
Nice suggestion, but no worky :(
I just doublechecked, and sending a float between 0.0 and 1.0 definitely works to change the blend mode. If you like, you can post a screenshot of the message you are sending so I can take a look for you.