Console now blank on Windows?

FFGL, OSC, GLSL. If you like abbreviations, this is the forum for you
Post Reply
mrwhisk
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 15:08

Console now blank on Windows?

Post by mrwhisk »

Ahoy,

My res console is mysteriously blank since the last windows update. Neither the messages I dispatch from plugs appear their nor the ones sent by the host?

Image

Anyone else experiencing this?

My dev gears just ground to a halt over this :(

Thanks!

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5876
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Console now blank on Windows?

Post by Zoltán »

What kind of messages are you sending to Resolume exactly?
Are the input inspectors in Preferences not showing those?
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

mrwhisk
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 15:08

Re: Console now blank on Windows?

Post by mrwhisk »

Thanks for the reply. I'm sending strings with ffglex::Log() from a plugin, however the console window is spontaneously not displaying these messages. Also, Resolume sends some messages here upon boot, stating GL version etc, however these are not appearing either...)

Ideas?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5876
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Console now blank on Windows?

Post by Zoltán »

I don't think we've changed these, but I have to say that's not a "Feature" ;)
If you'd like to check, you can get your previous Resolume release from the bottom of our download page.
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Menno
Team Resolume
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 13:56

Re: Console now blank on Windows?

Post by Menno »

Log messages are being printed to the log file at %localappdata%/Resolume Arena/Resolume Arena log.txt

You can use any log monitor, i tend to use Visual Studio Code in combination with the Log Viewer extension: https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/it ... log-viewer.

mrwhisk
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 15:08

Re: Console now blank on Windows?

Post by mrwhisk »

Thanks for the reply team, unfortunately no juice.

@Menno Messages dispatched from FFGL plugs do not appear in this log, this appears to be internal logging only.

@Zoltán Whilst never mentioned it being a 'feature', it is however the natural way to dev and debug plugs. Have been using that blessed console window since R4 for that purpose! ;) Also, agree that it's not something that changed on your end as it was windows that updated (not res) before experiencing the issue...

Guess I'm up the creek, perhaps best to use https://www.shadertoy.com/view/llcyD2 and log directly to the texture... :lol:

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5876
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Console now blank on Windows?

Post by Zoltán »

If it was a windows update which broke it, try reverting the update. https://www.dummies.com/article/technol ... te-245419/
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

mrwhisk
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 15:08

Re: Console now blank on Windows?

Post by mrwhisk »

@Zoltán Yep, was first thing I tried but didn't help sadly.

Post Reply