Noobie needs help encoding

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Post Reply
shitnema
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 09:46

Noobie needs help encoding

Post by shitnema »

today i install resolume arena 4.
why external file video MOV can't play in deck?

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1393
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: First Time User - First Time VJ - Question

Post by Arvol »

Why don't you use Arena 5 (The latest release?)
Can you encode your file using the DXV3 codec?

shitnema
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 09:46

Re: First Time User - First Time VJ - Question

Post by shitnema »

already install, do you have tutorial for encode file dvx3 codec?

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: First Time User - First Time VJ - Question

Post by Oaktown »

After you install Resolume, the DXV3 Codec will be on your computer and you'll need to use an encoder such as Adobe Media Encoder ($$ for PC & Mac) or MPEG Streamclip (free for PC & Mac), QuickTime Pro 7 ($ Mac & PC but not available anymore!).

If you need more guidance, you'll find several thread in the forum on how to encode properly for Resolume that will explain to you the preferred settings.

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Noobie needs help encoding

Post by Joris »

The manual has step by step instructions for the most frequently used encoding software: https://resolume.com/manual/en/r5/dxv#e ... v_encoding

Post Reply