syncing visuals using cdjs with rekordbox & resolume

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Post Reply
liam gillespie
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 14:56
Location: ireland

syncing visuals using cdjs with rekordbox & resolume

Post by liam gillespie »

hi all
first post on this forum this is to help any one wanting to sync visuals to cdjs

i was looking for months for a solution on syncing visuals to music with the dj playing on cdjs i have been using resolume for number of years for primarily visuals only but always seen shows with the likes of eyesupply and comixs work there magic and have the shows synced up
but i noticed few months ago pioneer released a live dj/video version of their rekordbox dj and also it links to the cdjs since then i always wondered if possible to take video from it and put it in to resolume so did it and used a source called syphon its take the output feed and inputs it into resolume
i took a short video to show it in action
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQZKzWS1j68

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1394
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: syncing visuals using cdjs with rekordbox & resolume

Post by Arvol »

So the video sources are Resolume and the CDJ's are controlling the clips bpm, start and stop, and sync'ing? or are you sending video from Resolume to the CDJ's and have DJ control everything?

Have been trying to find a way to sync the CDJ's BPM and drops to Resolume without SMPTE as most artists don't use that and I'm just a house VJ.

liam gillespie
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 14:56
Location: ireland

Re: syncing visuals using cdjs with rekordbox & resolume

Post by liam gillespie »

the video is coming out of rekordbox as it links to the cdjs the dj controls whats on rekordbox dj as its like serato or trakor but with video for example a song that has been made into a music video like a mp4 can be played like a its just a audio file and dj also can free style with other music as you would normal do in rekordbox

but the main bit is the video it sends off TO resolume as an input in the sources and then in resolume you will take this input as its just a normal input feed and push it out to displays

theres no sync with resolume just rekordbox is talking to cdjs
i hope to test this out fully in the next week but i know were your coming from SMPTE i know many djs dont use it
but hope this helps a bit in finding a solution
TOURING VJ - PC SPECIALIST OCTANE VI LAPTOP
I9 - RTX 2080 - 32GB RAM - 2TB SSD
TRAKTOR X1 - TRAKTOR F1
ARENA 6 - NOTCH
Macbook Pro - Showkontrol Live

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1394
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: syncing visuals using cdjs with rekordbox & resolume

Post by Arvol »

Makes sense. Thank you for the clarification.
:)

djrobs
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 14:23

Re: syncing visuals using cdjs with rekordbox & resolume

Post by djrobs »

Hi where did you get the rekordbox dj plugin for resolume
and how did you set it upp?
/Robert

liam gillespie
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 14:56
Location: ireland

Re: syncing visuals using cdjs with rekordbox & resolume

Post by liam gillespie »

hi Robert

this is the plugin needed to link the software i work with Apple mac so dont know if it will work on windows aswell
http://syphon.v002.info/
TOURING VJ - PC SPECIALIST OCTANE VI LAPTOP
I9 - RTX 2080 - 32GB RAM - 2TB SSD
TRAKTOR X1 - TRAKTOR F1
ARENA 6 - NOTCH
Macbook Pro - Showkontrol Live

Post Reply