How To Optimize OS X for Resolume

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
emiliog
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

How To Optimize OS X for Resolume

Post by emiliog »

I'm new to both Resolume and the world of VJing/visuals—I'm just a musician adding another layer to what I do.

In the Resolume documentation I found this:
For maximum stability and performance, the best thing to do is to have more than one installation of Windows or OSX on your computer, with one set up with the bare minimum of software running. You can then boot into your stripped down, high performance OS when you want to perform with Resolume.
Can anyone recommend any resources on how to do this? The manual doesn't really specify much more except for rendering all my video to DXV, which I've already done. Once I make a new partition and install a clean copy of OS X...then what?

I'm running a fairly simple setup on an older laptop so any advice or recommended reading would be welcome.

My setup is Ableton Live 10 and Resolume 6 on a 2012 MacBook running El Capitan 10.11.6 with 16GB RAM, 2.3 GHz i7, and an 1 TB SSD that I feed to the house PA and projector.

Daniel
Team Resolume

Re: How To Optimize OS X for Resolume

Post by Daniel »

hey emiliog - welcome to the vj community!

Your first steps are already done. Usually what I do with a brand new system is directly connect it to an external output; LED, Beamer or Regulair screen and setup my whole system in such way that I'm going to start VJ'ing. This gives me directly a feedback if everything is working correctly. I try to replicate the set before I go anywhere anytime, this is a good practice. This will indicate if you are missing something or not.

I often check the following:
- Make sure your OS has updating disabled (if possible) - or else make sure that it interrupts you during specific hours when you don't have a gig.