Feedback source as an effect

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Nackgi
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 09:52

Feedback source as an effect

Post by Nackgi »

Hi,

I love the feedback source and playing with it, but it frustrates me a bit because it uses the whole composition as it's input.

Is there any way to somehow use the feedback more like an effect so it affects only one clip, layer or group instead of the whole composition so I could for example make an infinitely repeating background for a centerpiece clip which would not be included in the feedback?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4575
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Feedback source as an effect

Post by Zoltán »

How about the Trails effect?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
Nackgi
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 09:52

Re: Feedback source as an effect

Post by Nackgi »

Zoltán wrote:
Mon May 07, 2018 08:55
How about the Trails effect?
Trails can't do the kind of stuff I do with feedback.

Why is the feedback source plugin to begin with? It needs an input to generate anything.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4575
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Feedback source as an effect

Post by Zoltán »

Nackgi wrote:
Sat Jun 09, 2018 18:04
Why is the feedback source plugin to begin with? It needs an input to generate anything.
I don't really understand the question.

The video router source can take layer textures as input, perhaps that would work for you.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1148
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: Feedback source as an effect

Post by edwin »

I think what 'Nackgi' wants is a Feedback effect per Clip/Layer/Composition. Right now the Feedback effect always takes the content of the previous render pass of the Composition. You can't create Feedback local to a Clip a.t.m.

Sadler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 23:55

Re: Feedback source as an effect

Post by Sadler »

https://www.bigfug.com/software/freeframe/

Alex May's feedback plugin is great though not exactly the same but it does work in Res 6 on a per clip basis. It has a lot more options than the built-in source effect too.

User avatar
Nackgi
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 09:52

Re: Feedback source as an effect

Post by Nackgi »

Zoltán wrote:
Mon Jun 11, 2018 13:23
Nackgi wrote:
Sat Jun 09, 2018 18:04
Why is the feedback source plugin to begin with? It needs an input to generate anything.
I don't really understand the question.

The video router source can take layer textures as input, perhaps that would work for you.
I mean that feedback source doesn't do anything by itself. It always needs some input to generate graphics. So in my mind it would be more appropriate as an effect.

User avatar
Nackgi
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 09:52

Re: Feedback source as an effect

Post by Nackgi »

Sadler wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 20:10
https://www.bigfug.com/software/freeframe/

Alex May's feedback plugin is great though not exactly the same but it does work in Res 6 on a per clip basis. It has a lot more options than the built-in source effect too.
I'll have to try that out. Thanks for the tip.

Post Reply