NDI vs Capture Cards which one to use

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
daddymacgyver
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

NDI vs Capture Cards which one to use

Post by daddymacgyver »

Hi guys i'm new to Resolume & have been using it for displays on my video walls and its worked great. I am thinking of getting into conferences where I would need to display Microsoft Power Point presentations from a separate machine and possibly a live camera feed or 2 on my video walls. I've just been researching how to do this with Resolume.

My Questions are:
1. Should I be trying to do this using NDI or external capture cards?

2. What are the pros & cons of using NDI or a capture card that is natively supported by Resolume (besides price)?

3. Which one is easier to set up & get working correctly?

4. Which brand of cards and model work best with Resolume (I need at least 1 SDI & 1 HDMI input)?

Thanx in advance guys.

He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"

Re: NDI vs Capture Cards which one to use

Post by He2neg »

(1)
To use Resolume as "heart" of the technical System is possible but i dont think its the solid professional way.

The professional way is to use a dedicated presentation switcher / screen management System.
Analog way & barco are the biggest brands i know for this stuff..

Still anwsers to the rest..:

(2) NDI has more delay and is sometimes a bit compressed (bad quality), depends on the quality of your network. (3) I think NDI is a bit more complex to set up correctly becouse its have more settings to care about.

Powerpoint can be via NDI
For live cameras i would suggest a capture Card

(4)
For each signal you will need a 2cnd capture card. There are some switches, wich also work as capture card so you can have 1 input into resolume with multiple sources.
I wont suggest a special brand here there were enough disccusions and test to take a look.