Resolume 7 Text Block Countdown Comp

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Post Reply
User avatar
DHoude
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 14:12
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

Resolume 7 Text Block Countdown Comp

Post by DHoude »

So, I loved the Countdown idea that is now possible in 7.1. Thank you Resolume! Well done! I recreated the demo clip that Resolume made so you don't have to. But that was just the start of creating other designs. I made a different Text "size" envelope where each digit zooms in. Then another where the end size amount increases, so it gets more dramatic as you get closer. Last, I added one of Doc Optic's 3D text clips, using Linear Cloner (Credit Doc Optic and link to 3D Text tutorial below). Here is the comp file.
Coundown v3.avc
(180 KiB) Downloaded 128 times
https://docoptic.com/resolume-6-preset-3d-text-clips/

Nothing here is "groundbreaking" yet, but I hope to add more soon. Enjoy!

It would be awesome if you could add any or all of these to this thread:
1. You share your new ideas for countdowns here using built-in effects. So that I/we can make them a reality, if possible.
2. Share your variations of this comp here.
3. Share your gig pictures using these countdowns from your show.

Now if only I could set a target time and reference system time for a longer status of the countdown. For example, when I start the night you would see that there are several hours to go and the band can just look back at any time to see how long they have (hours, min, sec) until the target time. That would be amazing!

I am hoping to learn more about plugin coding in 2020 and maybe the best way to achieve this without Touchdesigner or other external apps. If you have any ideas, PM me. I would love to avoid ideas that will not work and wasted time. Thanks!
Last edited by DHoude on Wed Dec 25, 2019 17:43, edited 4 times in total.
http://www.facebook.com/DJHProductions
Win 10 pro 64 bit - b2004
NVIDIA 2070m v 451.48
Resolume Arena 7.2.1 - Akai APC40 MKII
Virtual DJ 8 & NS7 III (video DJ)
Ableton Live 10

User avatar
DHoude
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 14:12
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

Re: Resolume 7 Text Block Countdown Comp

Post by DHoude »

Looks like my comp file link died. All fixed with more options!
Countdown.jpg
http://www.facebook.com/DJHProductions
Win 10 pro 64 bit - b2004
NVIDIA 2070m v 451.48
Resolume Arena 7.2.1 - Akai APC40 MKII
Virtual DJ 8 & NS7 III (video DJ)
Ableton Live 10

User avatar
DHoude
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 14:12
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

Re: Resolume 7 Text Block Countdown Comp

Post by DHoude »

It seems like some of my animations that were in time, shifted after coming back to the project. I added some fades and fixed shifted the timing. The V3 comp fixes this

Merry Christmas! Or Happy Holidays!
http://www.facebook.com/DJHProductions
Win 10 pro 64 bit - b2004
NVIDIA 2070m v 451.48
Resolume Arena 7.2.1 - Akai APC40 MKII
Virtual DJ 8 & NS7 III (video DJ)
Ableton Live 10

User avatar
pette
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 18:58

Re: Resolume 7 Text Block Countdown Comp

Post by pette »

Hi, but what about the countdown?
So how can I use numbers?
thanks

User avatar
DHoude
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 14:12
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

Re: Resolume 7 Text Block Countdown Comp

Post by DHoude »

Hello! Sorry for the delay. I am not sure I understand the question. If you download my composition file and open it in Resolume, you will see that the countdowns are already laid out for you. Noting to figure out and a bunch of different designs to choose from and modify.

Just click on one of the clips with 10 seconds left to midnight. There will be a digit change every second, with a pause on the final "Happy New Year" you can change that part to say anything by editing the Text Block effect. Just scroll to the bottom of the Text Block window.

The main warning I will give you is that my animations are based off of 11 lines of text. So my animations will be wrong if you change the amount of lines.
http://www.facebook.com/DJHProductions
Win 10 pro 64 bit - b2004
NVIDIA 2070m v 451.48
Resolume Arena 7.2.1 - Akai APC40 MKII
Virtual DJ 8 & NS7 III (video DJ)
Ableton Live 10

User avatar
DHoude
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 14:12
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

Re: Resolume 7 Text Block Countdown Comp

Post by DHoude »

If it is a question of how is this possible with Text Block. Just type out each line (can be anything). Then set the Text Block itself to Timeline playback.

Now set your duration time. Here my duration time is 11 seconds because I have 11 text lines to flip through. A 10 second count, and then a final greeting message. 11 layers, each triggered in 1 second = 11 seconds.
Countdown.jpg
You will probably want the timeline end to either stop and pause or stop and clear so the countdown does not repeat over and over if you don't shut it off in time.
http://www.facebook.com/DJHProductions
Win 10 pro 64 bit - b2004
NVIDIA 2070m v 451.48
Resolume Arena 7.2.1 - Akai APC40 MKII
Virtual DJ 8 & NS7 III (video DJ)
Ableton Live 10

Post Reply