Animated DMX parameters

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
paull
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 07:58

Animated DMX parameters

Post by paull » Wed Jul 10, 2019 08:36

Have you a timeline on when you will be making the Parameters in the New Fixture tab available to be animated like it says in the hover over help.

If these Parameters where able to be animated, I could use them to run Moving heads and other lights.

Currently I am trying to use Freestyler for this, but would much prefer one piece of Software.
Attachments
Capture.JPG

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Animated DMX parameters

Post by He2neg » Wed Jul 10, 2019 08:51

a fixture is just a fixture.... it is just a static information sheet on how many channels your lamp use and what channel do what....

animation you can get via the comands on this channels... so a white image will give you 255 on the channel and black will give you 0.


The artnet/dmx output of arena is mostly for non moving led fixtures ( so just the color & brightness) and that work very easy.
When you want to have some movinghead movements inside arena you will need to work with (at least) 2 workarounds :ugeek:
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

paull
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 07:58

Re: Animated DMX parameters

Post by paull » Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:19

Working with moving heads is exactly what I want to do. But How in Resolume???

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Animated DMX parameters

Post by He2neg » Wed Jul 10, 2019 17:50

you ll need to build some dummy clips to get the right values wich are then translated into dmx...

Grab the color from your vj clips and the rest from a dummy layer

so i.e. when you have a solid color (white) and fade this clip from 0 -100% you can get the dmx values from 0 - 255 when you now send this values to the pan channel of your moving head then the moving head will pan from 0 - 100 (position)

Ofc you can have multiple solid colors in one clip and controlle many fixtures / channels inside one clip.

you may see now that resolume is not a software for moving fixtures but with some work it can work and then you spare the extra software....
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

paull
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 07:58

Re: Animated DMX parameters

Post by paull » Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:25

Thanks very much, that will work in some of my set-ups. For larger events I will use Freestyler

It seems a shame as Resolume is very solid and it would be great to use just one program.

Maybe something for the future......

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Animated DMX parameters

Post by He2neg » Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:03

Resolume never was and never will be a light software...
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

Menno
Team Resolume
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 13:56

Re: Animated DMX parameters

Post by Menno » Thu Jul 11, 2019 13:37

are you sure though? :roll:
We have ideas on supporting dmx clips some time. You'd have clips to which you can add fixtures so you can control their parameters. This is a lot of work though. We dont have a set timeframe on when/if we're going to work on this so yeah for now you're at the mercy of workarounds and other software programs.

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Animated DMX parameters

Post by He2neg » Thu Jul 11, 2019 14:15

Menno wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 13:37
are you sure though? :roll:
We have ideas on supporting dmx clips some time. You'd have clips to which you can add fixtures so you can control their parameters. This is a lot of work though. We dont have a set timeframe on when/if we're going to work on this so yeah for now you're at the mercy of workarounds and other software programs.
Its totaly up to you if you want to make moving fixtures work inside resolume.
I guess i will also love if resolume can handle some minor moving fixtures =*

But it is a Video Software and allways will be ;)
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Animated DMX parameters

Post by He2neg » Thu Jul 11, 2019 14:33

As i´m just myselfe i did the digging and here i found the old dmx helper...

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=12513
http://palffyzoltan.hu/?url=programs&a=dmxhelper

Im not sure if it still work in Resolume 6 / 7
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3533
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Animated DMX parameters

Post by Zoltán » Thu Jul 11, 2019 19:33

He2neg wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 14:33
As i´m just myselfe i did the digging and here i found the old dmx helper...

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=12513
http://palffyzoltan.hu/?url=programs&a=dmxhelper

Im not sure if it still work in Resolume 6 / 7
That's still Quartz Composer, which is not supported above R5, and also only for mac.

Should be pretty easy to create something similar in FFGL, for someone who knows how to write FFGL, and has the time for it.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply