HAP support?

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
sleepytom
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 11:11
Location: sussex by the sea

HAP support?

Post by sleepytom » Fri Mar 15, 2013 21:41

https://github.com/Vidvox/hap

Please add support for GPU decode of HAP video. It should offer better quality than DXV.

Alternatively / additionally upgrade DXV to 24bit colour. Arena is a pretty usable professional media server, but the DXV video quality is unacceptable in high end shows.

cheers
tom

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 634
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: HAP support?

Post by pfelberg » Fri Mar 15, 2013 22:24

is it a free codec?

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: HAP support?

Post by Joris » Fri Mar 15, 2013 23:15

You're a bit late to this party, Tom :)

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=9586&hilit=hap&start=10#p39629

sleepytom
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 11:11
Location: sussex by the sea

Re: HAP support?

Post by sleepytom » Mon Jul 28, 2014 15:16

HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP HAP
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The following applications and environments have support for GPU-accelerated playback of Hap movies:

VDMX
CoGe
Millumin
Blendy VJ
TouchDesigner088
d3 Media Servers
modul8
VPT 7
GRoK
Cinder via Cinder-Hap
Max via jit.gl.hap
OpenFrameworks via ofxHapPlayer
Unity via AV PRO QUICKTIME
Quartz Composer via CoGeHapPlayer
---------
HAP

Resolume? HAP? HAP!

Come on for the first time in years we can actually have a codec which works across a load of different popular software. DXV2 is a nice idea, it's great quality (most likely better than HAP from what i've seen) but many people want to be able to make clips which work in a range of software. Resolume is all alone when there is a codec love-in going on. Please give us HAP support sooner rather than later. If Modul8 can mange to support it in their legacy application which gets updated about every 3 years then you guys surely could throw us a bone..

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: HAP support?

Post by Joris » Fri Aug 01, 2014 10:08

BLA BLA BLA BLA BLA BLA

The following applications and environments have had support for GPU-accelerated playback for the past 6 (!) years:
Resolume

---

Jokes aside, of course there's codec love-in going on. HAP is amazing. Everybody has had a significant performance increase thrown in their lap. You'd be a pretty stupid developer not to take advantage of that.

Resolume users have been able to use hardware acceleration since Res 3, so the need for HAP is not so pressing for us. This thread is the second question about HAP we've had, and the first actual request for it. Of course a forum is not representative of how many actual users want something, but the amount of +1s here is at least an indication of how much HAP is needed for the majority of Res users.

Having a single codec that can be used everywhere is of course great. It's a definite benefit that we don't want to keep from you. So we're going to implement HAP eventually. It's just not a priority right now.

We're more interested to see how HAP will develop now that Apple has pulled the Quicktime rug from under it. Writing your own playback support is not the big issue, it's the support for export from the content apps that's the problem. An open source codec that every VJ app and their VJ grandma supports, is not much use if you can't export it from the big boys like AE or C4D.

If AVFoundation is not opened up for 3rd party codecs, the HAP/DXV/AiM camps will need to come up with an alternative. When that happens, we're hoping we can work together on it, so any solution will truly benefit the community.

sleepytom
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 11:11
Location: sussex by the sea

Re: HAP support?

Post by sleepytom » Fri Aug 08, 2014 11:17

The following applications have had support for DXV for the past 6 years,

Salvation / Addict / AI
d3
Resolume

It's public knowledge that the resolume programmers have HAP decoding working in private test builds of resolume. It would be good to release this functionality so that people who are interested in using more than one piece of software can maintain a single content archive. It would also really benefit the commercial footage market if there was a single performance codec that worked across the board.

I can't see a disadvantage to Resolume supporting HAP. Maybe DXV3 will be better quality? That would be good too. But for many people HAP support is now more important. Crucially for Resolume its increasingly the case that people who currently do not use Resolume will see having to re-encode all their clips from HAP to DXV as being a deal breaker.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2801
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: HAP support?

Post by Oaktown » Fri Aug 08, 2014 16:05

sleepytom wrote:Crucially for Resolume its increasingly the case that people who currently do not use Resolume will see having to re-encode all their clips from HAP to DXV as being a deal breaker.
With the use of MPEG Streamclip and the ability to do batches (while one sleeps even), I can't imagine that having to re-encode from HAP to DXV or DVX to HAP would be a deal breaker!

I'm sure Resolume will eventually support HAP and that'll be great but at the moment, for me, not being able to use HAP with Arena 4 is more of a minor annoyance than a deal breaker.

alfaleader
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 17:48

Re: HAP support?

Post by alfaleader » Tue Aug 12, 2014 13:48

Except if you have 1000+ files that are encoded in another format and you need to recode them to DXV (with always a small quality loss).

HAP support would mean we could use 1 codec and use it in all other vj programs with GPU encoding.

User avatar
skulpture
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 17:47
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: HAP support?

Post by skulpture » Fri Aug 15, 2014 15:38

Isadora is running it also. It's pretty impressive.

Phlux
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 22:05

Re: HAP support?

Post by Phlux » Sat Oct 25, 2014 18:53

As of today: "First version or Hap player for #vvvv #dx11 (using raw AVI api, no dshow) up and running"
https://twitter.com/mrvux/status/526046600763043840

I've created an account here just to bump this functionality request.
I imagine there are many more Resolume users like me who keep checking back to these threads hoping its been implemented without nagging for it.

.. but ya, GPU HAP Q Playback in Resolume..

Seems like decent video quality and support for the now real-time standard is fundamental enough to be expected at this point.
I get that it adds massive desirability to an upcoming Version#5 of Resolume that I might not buy otherwise, but to keep all of your customers on hold for almost two years—presumably for a bigger cash grab—is kind of a drag.

Post Reply