HAP support?

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: HAP support?

Post by Joris » Thu Sep 10, 2015 09:33

The problem with AV Foundation and the deprecation of QTKit is not so much playback.

DXV is not a QTKit codec. Resolume does not need QTKit to play back a DXV encoded file.

Resolume also doesn't need AVFoundation to play back a DXV encoded file. Really, it doesn't even need to have the DXV codec installed at all. It's our own codec, we know how to play it back so we play it back ourselves.

The one thing that was great about QTKit, is that it was used in other apps *to create* .mov files with 3rd party codecs. So you can export a DXV encoded .mov file straight from After Effects or Cinema4D or any app that supports QTKit.

With QTKit being deprecated, and AV Foundation not supporting 3rd party codecs, this means that eventually, you won't be able to export DXV encoded files directly from After Effects. Noticed how FCP and Motion already dropped support for 3rd party .mov exports a while ago? That was when they switched to AV Foundation. That's pretty much the only real downside to the whole thing.

As far as I understand it, this is what the HAPinAVFoundation framework is meant for. If a developer wants to *create* HAP encoded files in their app, they can use that framework to do so.

If you have all your assets in a certain format already, the whole point is moot really. DXV will always be best for Resolume, other codecs will be best for other apps.

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 317
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: HAP support?

Post by francoe » Fri Sep 11, 2015 00:57

Many thanks Joris, I undestand a little bit more now.
I already know DXV will play straight foward on resolume, and hey! I don't want to leave it :D
I've missed the point that HAPinAVFoundation is a developer framework.
So, lets say if I have all my assets on a 'mezzanine' compression to manage common tasks (edit, quicklook, etc), still can transcode those files to DXV on any app wrapped to work over QTkit.
So the only downside on this is the ability to export to third party codecs on common apps, if they get rid off all the qtkit stuff, right?

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: HAP support?

Post by Joris » Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:17

So the only downside on this is the ability to export to third party codecs on common apps, if they get rid off all the qtkit stuff
Pretty much. On Mac, not being able to preview files via Quicklook or open them in Quicktime Player X is a biggie for a lot of people as well.

Phlux
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 22:05

Re: HAP support?

Post by Phlux » Tue Nov 17, 2015 00:13

So HAP is not happening?

sleepytom
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 11:11
Location: sussex by the sea

Re: HAP support?

Post by sleepytom » Fri Feb 12, 2016 05:12

hap?

please?

8stringbassist

Re: HAP support?

Post by 8stringbassist » Sat Feb 13, 2016 16:28

+1 HAP. PLEASE!!!

User avatar
judicator
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 18:33
Location: Russia

Re: HAP support?

Post by judicator » Fri Feb 19, 2016 19:52

Still not HAP.pening :D

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Re: HAP support?

Post by mfo » Tue Jul 12, 2016 15:30

+1

Post Reply