Mouse and keyboard setting / Maus und Tastatureinstellung

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
User avatar
RycoDePsyco
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 20:17

Mouse and keyboard setting / Maus und Tastatureinstellung

Post by RycoDePsyco »

German / English

Maus Tastatureinstellung
Maus einstellen:

Maus über Video-Clip = Clip spielt als Mini Vorschau ab. Unter Layer.
Maus Rechtsklick = Videoclip wird im Vorschaufenster angezeigt und abgespielt.




Mouse keyboard setting
Setting the mouse:
Mouse over video clip = clip plays as a mini
preview. Under Layer.
Right mouse click = video clip is displayed and
played in the preview window.


Thank you

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1338
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Mouse and keyboard setting / Maus und Tastatureinstellun

Post by cosmowe »

hmmm -1

rightclick is used for clip options so you cannot use it.
why don't you use the normal way by clicking with the left mousebutton inside the gray field under your clips?


Greetings
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

Rene
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Mouse and keyboard setting / Maus und Tastatureinstellun

Post by Rene »

RycoDePsyco wrote:Right mouse click = video clip is displayed and
played in the preview window.
also -1 (right click already used, left click below the clip does exactly what you want)
RycoDePsyco wrote:Mouse over video clip = clip plays as a mini
preview. Under Layer.
Hmm, what about a "mini preview" just showing a few (20-30) different thumbnails/frames of the clip when moving the mouse over the clip (mouse from left to right = thumbs from clip beginning to clip end . Like in iMovie. But not underneath, instead of the the static thumbnail picture.

User avatar
RycoDePsyco
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 20:17

Re: Mouse and keyboard setting / Maus und Tastatureinstellun

Post by RycoDePsyco »

Now is:
Left click = start video
Middle click = start video
Right click = start video

Why not ...
Left click = start video
Mittleklick = Preview
Right click = Preview

Mouse over Clip = But preview clip window Image


Why?
Because it is much faster.
Because you do not exactly on the narrow bar / text must click.



German:
Jetzt ist:
Linksklick = Videostart
Mittelklick = Videostart
Rechtsklick = Videostart

Warum nicht...
Linksklick = Videostart
Mittleklick = Vorschau
Rechtsklick = Vorschau

Maus über Clip = Vorschau aber im Clipfenster Image


Warum?
Weil es deutlich schneller geht.
Weil man nicht genau
auf den schmalen Balken/Text
klicken muss.

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1338
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Mouse and keyboard setting / Maus und Tastatureinstellun

Post by cosmowe »

hmmm... did you ever tried to right-click on a clip? :mrgreen:
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

User avatar
RycoDePsyco
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 20:17

Re: Mouse and keyboard setting / Maus und Tastatureinstellun

Post by RycoDePsyco »

cosmowe wrote:hmmm... did you ever tried to right-click on a clip? :mrgreen:
now is:
Left click = start video
Middle click = start video
Right click = start video
!!! Right click of gray Tab (Field) under Clips = Option Menu !!!
Not of Video !

or

Right-click on video of the clip = video started.
Right click on Tab (field) in the clip = mouse menu (context menu)

HerrNieDa
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 09:30

Re: Mouse and keyboard setting / Maus und Tastatureinstellun

Post by HerrNieDa »

clip and layer preview works fine so far...
the only think i can notice is that performance goes down with an active opened preview window... would be nice to have a option for deactivating preview after 60 seconds or so for slower machines...
the problem with animated thumbnails lies on the hand... beside that the deck loading process would slow down i think ;) (hopefully better in next version). also the preview should start maybe if you stay on the clip for 3 seconds... otherwise resolume would have to load massivly thumbnails if you move the cursor....

also the clip preview in the file browser is a bit annoying.... if i leave the field with the cursor the preview stops.. so i have to hold my mouse still to watch the preview :(
MainSys: Z77 UP5,3570K,32GB Ram,GTX 285, M3 128GB,4x3TB R5@LSI9750
VJSys 1: 990FX UD5,X6 1045T,16GB Ram,GTX970+610+610,M3 128GB,3x1TB R0
MBP 3.1; Schenker A102 (650m) & P702 (675m)

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Mouse and keyboard setting / Maus und Tastatureinstellun

Post by Joris »

Moving previews on mouse-over is not going to happen, that would be an enormous performance drain. Especially taking into account that some people are already experiencing FPS drops with a single preview window (as HerrNieDa mentions).

We'll take a look at how we can improve the preview performance and the browser preview though.

HerrNieDa
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 09:30

Re: Mouse and keyboard setting / Maus und Tastatureinstellun

Post by HerrNieDa »

<3
MainSys: Z77 UP5,3570K,32GB Ram,GTX 285, M3 128GB,4x3TB R5@LSI9750
VJSys 1: 990FX UD5,X6 1045T,16GB Ram,GTX970+610+610,M3 128GB,3x1TB R0
MBP 3.1; Schenker A102 (650m) & P702 (675m)

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Mouse and keyboard setting / Maus und Tastatureinstellun

Post by Joris »

also the clip preview in the file browser is a bit annoying.... if i leave the field with the cursor the preview stops.. so i have to hold my mouse still to watch the preview
We've now tested this on several systems, and it seems to work as expected for us (clip plays to the end and then stops).

Perhaps there is something else going on in your setup?

Post Reply