Scripting? Modules?

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
User avatar
lotech
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 21:45
Location: AKL, New Zealand

Scripting? Modules?

Post by lotech »

While I'm still attempting to switch from Modul8 to Arena a big thing I find missing from Resolume is the ability to script and design basic buttons and GUI elements. Some sort of customisable panel or panels that can be created by users. If we could extend Resolume ourselves it would surely only help improve the app.

A couple of examples -
I'd like to map a dial to do two things at once - turn 2 knobs, possibly one slower than the other. This could be done relatively easily with some scripting then all we need is the ability to draw a knob.
Or being able to set multiple settings with a single button press - one example could be to automatically reset all dials/faders/fx to a default position or clear two layers at once.

I guess this would all be part of an overall update to the GUI but I'm just hoping its on the radar.

Rene
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Scripting? Modules?

Post by Rene »

you could use a max/msp patche via OSC like the multi clip editor by Pablo. Or you create a Lemur template and add a little script to your button or slider.
I know that's not comparable to moduls in M8, but probably a good workaround.

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Scripting? Modules?

Post by Joris »

We have some plans for adding scripting / math / behaviours for parameter animation, but they're relatively low priority.

Don't expect anything like modules or customizable interfaces, though.

Post Reply