interface brightness

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
coz3r
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 18:17

interface brightness

Post by coz3r » Sat Jun 14, 2014 20:06

I know that you want to keep a specific look for the interface but is it a possibility to change the brightness of it like you can in after effects? I do a ton of outdoor day work and hunting for the bar in the scroll cuts into a large enough portion of my day that I figured i would at least ask for it. If nothing else can you make the scrollbar a brighter color?:) I have a decently bright monitor and I try to get as much shade as possible but all too often the sun wins.

ReggieUnderground
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 08:15

Re: interface brightness

Post by ReggieUnderground » Sat Jun 14, 2014 22:13

Been there too. Serato is a good example of bright/dark settings for the interface.

In the past I've used a mouse locator so at least the cursor is easier to find. You could also try using the new 'Scroll to Clip' feature to bounce around within Decks.

Another way is click-and-hold in the scrollbar area and scroll til you find your spot. If you know the content well it doesn't take long.

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: interface brightness

Post by Joris » Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:08

Yeah, on a sunny festival day, I find myself having to press my nose against the screen to see some details as well.

A high contrast mode would be a good solution. I'll see if I can get Bart excited about this.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2817
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: interface brightness

Post by Oaktown » Mon Jun 16, 2014 14:29

In the meantime, on a mac you can use the accessibility menu, invert the screen colors and/or magnify your cursor to the max size.
Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 6.26.23 AM.png
Of course that inverts your clips on your main screen but if you know your set that shouldn't be a problem. Other outputs are not affected. I haven't tried that on Windows but I'm sure there is a similar mode.

Post Reply