need feather in crop function

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
wl_kicker
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 05:05

need feather in crop function

Post by wl_kicker » Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:29

i need feather in crop effects for each direction, ... it is so useful. or i missed something? something like soft crop ? and tips? now i use the ramp mask from B\W ramp jpg files.. hard to control.

Sadler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 23:55

Re: need feather in crop function

Post by Sadler » Thu Jan 01, 2015 17:34

Create a feathered png (white on black) and use it as a mask.

If you want to animate the mask, put it on a layer above and set the blend mode to mask50.

Admittedly not the same as a feathered crop but these might do the job for you.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2790
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: need feather in crop function

Post by Oaktown » Thu Jan 01, 2015 18:31

The Vignette effect can also come handy

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3744
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: need feather in crop function

Post by Zoltán » Thu Jan 01, 2015 18:41

I use a feathered big L shaped png mask twice on 2 layers above my clip one rotated 180 degrees,
when in position, I make a snapshot of just the masks, then import it to clip mask.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

wl_kicker
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 05:05

Re: need feather in crop function

Post by wl_kicker » Fri Jan 02, 2015 01:38

Sadler wrote:Create a feathered png (white on black) and use it as a mask.

If you want to animate the mask, put it on a layer above and set the blend mode to mask50.

Admittedly not the same as a feathered crop but these might do the job for you.

wl_kicker
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 05:05

Re: need feather in crop function

Post by wl_kicker » Fri Jan 02, 2015 04:08

Oaktown wrote:The Vignette effect can also come handy
this is what i need !

wl_kicker
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 05:05

Re: need feather in crop function

Post by wl_kicker » Fri Jan 02, 2015 09:33

stil need crop with feather control .., after crop i apply a vignette ,still hard to control. because of crop function.

DayVeeJay
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 23:38
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: need feather in crop function

Post by DayVeeJay » Sat Jan 03, 2015 02:43

I'll second the feather on the crop effect. It sounds really useful. For now you can rearrange the crop/vignette effect or add edge blending in the advanced output. A mask may be a better route depending on your application

wl_kicker
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 05:05

Re: need feather in crop function

Post by wl_kicker » Sat Jan 03, 2015 08:43

DayVeeJay wrote:I'll second the feather on the crop effect. It sounds really useful. For now you can rearrange the crop/vignette effect or add edge blending in the advanced output. A mask may be a better route depending on your application
output blending i can not use in my situation because of i just want to adjust one layer.
mask have problem, i need quick crop some pic to fit perticular position and need some blending, but mask doesn't work after cropping .
vignette after cropping , i tried . but doesn't work ,i don't know why, i tried effects order changing . i thought it will work. but problem is i want to crop and feather left or right edge, but vignette will feather top and bottom edges also...problem

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3744
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: need feather in crop function

Post by Zoltán » Sat Jan 03, 2015 10:51

try this:

download FrParameters ffgl fx from here: http://www.1210visuals.net/index.php?op ... &Itemid=58
create a feathered mask, drag that to the clip before Transform.
insert FrParameters before the mask

now you can size the clip within the mask,
then if you want you can resize the masked clip with Transform
like this
like this
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply